Skip to content
January 2, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Christmas is over. Well it is in our house. Traditionally it should be the 5th I know but once New year is over what’s the point? Let it go and look forward. So, for us the 2nd is it; over, done, let’s move on. As can be seen from what’s left of the Christmas tree. I find the process of packing everything away for another twelve months a strange mixture of sadness, melancholy and optimism for the future. I also feel guilty at what I have done to the tree that has given us such great service over the holiday period and it must touch something deep, as I always feel bad about just throwing it out. For years I tried rooted trees with the hope of keeping it and growing it on. After trying everything but the kiss of life, every tree died within weeks, sometimes days. This was not helped by the six-inch stub of roots the grower left on the tree. So I gave up. I’m really looking forward to 2013 and now we are ready for it.

Leave a Reply

