Skip to content
January 9, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

A quiet walk

Canal barge 9.1.13

 

I enjoyed a walk along the canal today as the sun popped out to see us and the mud was only about six inches deep rather than the few feet it has been recently. I thought the tow-path would be passable and it was with good boots on. The photo I took illustrates why I find canals such a pleasant place to spend some time. No noise, the colours and reflections, the boats moving so slowly that it’s possible to have a conversation with those on board as they pass. Just so civilized and all hidden away from the hustle of everyday life. Of course, the canals run through industrial areas too, which is why they were created in the first place but I’m lucky enough to be able to enjoy the more scenic parts. Having said that, I do find the scenes around the old industrial cities like Birmingham have their attractions too and I’ll be including some photos of these as and when.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. believe438 / Feb 3 2013 4:39 pm

    Thank you for liking mine. I thought “A Quiet Walk” was beautiful because the way you described how it was and the picture with it was good!!!!!!!!!

  2. brians101 / Feb 4 2013 12:48 am

    Nice, look forward to seeing the output of your self imposed challenge.

  3. jherring / Feb 7 2013 5:16 pm

    Very well taken photo and I like the colours. It would be good if you used the edit facility to open your photos in a new tab.

  4. Kavita Joshi / Feb 9 2013 10:17 am

    Thanks for liking my post…i
    Good shot

  5. Kavita Joshi / Feb 16 2013 5:05 am

    Thanks for liking my post…nice writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

