Skip to content
January 11, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Spiders and creepy-crawlies

House SpiderThis is a photo I took today of a common house spider. It was huge (maybe not a funnel-web or big if you live in the Tropics but big by UK standards). Anyway, it just goes to illustrate the point about finding the extraordinary amongst the ordinary. It is magnificent. I remember when the children were small, I was examining the cast skin of a spider under the microscope with my son, when there in one of the legs was a tiny little creature munching its way through the dead skin. How fantastic was that. There is this whole world going on around us, under us, even on us. Fantastic. Just wow. For anyone with a passing interest in bugs and the like, I recommend getting a jewellers eyepiece or loop. It opens up this wonderful other world and you can carry it around in your pocket. Happy bug hunting. If you are wondering why the spider was good enough to pose for me while I took its photo it was actually dead and out of my loft.

Leave a Reply

