Skip to content
January 14, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

What have you got to smile about?

Smiley faceI do love taking photos and I started the day full of hope that I would get some great shots today. Snow was forecast and you know what it’s like with snow, great shots everywhere, right? No. It was that wet, slushy stuff, not the fine cold powdery stuff that hangs on trees and turns everything into a frosted wonderland. As I left the house this morning with the dogs I passed my car and couldn’t resist the urge to draw a big smiley face on the windscreen. Now I am far too old to be doing that sort of thing, (especially if the neighbours were watching) and it was quite spontaneous; not at all contrived for an easy pic, (though it does fit the requirement of a pic per day, just by coincidence). No, it’s just how I felt at the time. And that pleases me. It means I am happy. Proof positive. I hadn’t thought about it before. I haven’t won the lottery and I’m not the subject of Angelina Jolie’s desires, (she just hasn’t seen me yet) and yet I’m happy. I think that is a blessing. It is a blessing to have enough and a blessing to be happy with having enough. I have known so many miserable, grasping people who appear to be successful and have been driven by the desire to have more and more and never seem to know happiness. I am truly grateful for what I have and I really hope that I can find the generosity of spirit to share more of what I have with those in need, both in my own country and beyond. That’s an awful lot to come from drawing a smiley face but it’s just how I felt, so there it is.

Leave a Reply

