Skip to content
January 26, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

My hero, the one legged duck

One footed duck 26.1.13

As this blog is about the everyday things in my life, I thought I would introduce you to a character I see everyday. He’s a special fellow who has had a tough time and come through it. He’s an example to us all and my little hero. He doesn’t have a name, I’m not that daft, (well maybe). As you can see he’s lost a foot. This happened last year when he got fishing line wrapped around his leg. Unfortunately, he wouldn’t let anyone get close enough to help him. Last winter he looked a pathetic figure out on the ice on his own and I didn’t think he would make it. I remember one particular evening last year, the lake frozen, snow falling and sub zero temperatures, I looked at this wretched little dark figure on the ice, and he looked wet.  That’s very bad for a duck, strange as that sounds.  Ducks should not get wet as it’s a sign their  ability to maintain their plumage is going and for any bird that’s the end.  I thought you’ve had it mate and there’s nothing I can do.  I, and others, would throw food as hard as we could to try to reach him but without much expectation he would get it.   Against all the odds, somehow he made it, though he did lose his foot. He finds moving in the water slightly difficult, as you can imagine, as he does not have the ability to manoeuvre very well. However, he is more confident on land  as he can use his stump. He sits on his usual rock and when we visit to feed the ducks, geese, gulls and anything else that’s about, around the same time each day, he jumps off that rock and waddles over as fast as he can and mixes it with the rest of them. Of course he gets special treatment and he is always the first to get fed. As you can see he is doing very well.

Now, I know it’s just an ordinary photograph without much artistic merit and he’s just a bird but to me he is a very special duck and deserves to be famous.   Needless to say, I would like to shove the fishing line that caused this, up the rear end of the lazy b****d who couldn’t be bothered to take his rubbish home but that’s another story.

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. tashastraveltroves / Jan 27 2013 11:00 am

    Love this story! A brave heart should always be recognized !

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 27 2013 11:49 am

      Hi. Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I love this tough little duck. Every time I go over to the lake I look to see he is okay. He gets uncomfortable when he is in a crowd/flock as he is vulnerable when they are all feeding together so I try to distract the crowd away with food and then throw him his own pile. As you say, a brave spirit and heart should always be recognised and now he’s famous.

  2. Chancy and Mumsy (Mag) / Jan 27 2013 5:22 pm

    What a great story. I am so happy he survived he is a strong a brave duck. Thank you for sharing his story.Hugs to you for feeding him and watching over him.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 27 2013 9:05 pm

      Hi. Thank you for dropping by my blog and your kind words. I think this little fella won the hearts of a few people who watched him struggle for so long.

  3. ericanichole / Jan 28 2013 7:13 pm

    This just completely warmed my heart! Cute little feller. Bless his heart.

  4. Victoria / Jan 29 2013 4:03 pm

    He (and you) have another fan. He’s won my heart, for sure.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 29 2013 7:48 pm

      Thank you for dropping by my blog and taking time to comment. Really appreciate it and your kind words.

  5. The Earth Beneath My Feet / Jan 31 2013 10:05 am

    Lovely blog, especially this story. Thank you for stopping by mine. Regards, Karen

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 31 2013 11:40 am

      Thanks Karen and for taking the time to comment on other postings. I must say NZ is one of my top places to see as it looks so stunningly beautiful. It’s especially attractive when it’s January in the UK. Maybe one day.

      • The Earth Beneath My Feet / Jan 31 2013 5:34 pm

        Yes, NZ does seems to have untold beauty. Cape Town where I live is very much like that too which is why I blog and brag about this amazing place. I can imagine the UK is cold – I was there three years ago and battled to keep warm at -1. Keep putting logs on the fire! 🙂

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 31 2013 11:06 pm

        Hi Tried replying via WP but didn’t work. Thanks for dropping by and making the time to comment. Much appreciated. And South Africa is also a place I’d love to see and photograph. Spectacular. Maybe one day.

        > Date: Thu, 31 Jan 2013 17:34:57 +0000 > To: daouduk@hotmail.com >

  6. Gallivanta / Jan 31 2013 11:18 am

    Lucky Duck. It is amazing how well the ducks do manage with one leg/foot.

  7. Touring NH / Feb 4 2013 11:34 am

    Love this post. It IS a great photo as it tells an imortant story of triumph! People never stop to think the damage that can happen when they leave their trash behind!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 4 2013 12:15 pm

      Thanks for stopping by. It is a story of triumph but as you say, behind it is a story of someone who just didn’t care enough and caused unnecessary suffering, which does make me angry. He’s doing okay though; I see him every day.

Leave a Reply

