Skip to content
January 31, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Perfect Harmony

Swans flying in harmony

In my humble opinion, there are few, if any, more beautiful birds than the swan.

As I walked today, I saw this pair of Mute Swans take off in the far distance and I just  had a feeling they would do a large circuit before returning, and what do you know, they obliged, coming right overhead.  Giving me just enough time to reach for the camera.  As is often the case, I was out with the dogs and I had to rely on my compact rather than my DSLR.  Simply because I can’t hold on to two large greyhounds, sling my camera bag round and set up a shot in the three seconds I had.  I can’t just let the dogs free, as if they saw something in the distance they would be a speck on the horizon before I had put the camera away.   Anyway, it was good enough but as the composition was, for me,  perfect, (which was sheer luck), and these chances few and far between, I did regret a little it wasn’t with the better camera.  Still, I’m grateful for what I got and I will keep trying for that perfect shot.

Without getting too poetic, to be close as swans pass by like this, really does make the heart leap, as I’m sure many will have experienced.

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. rebecca2000 / Feb 1 2013 12:01 am

    I love swan myself.

  2. FeyGirl / Feb 1 2013 1:01 am

    i can’t believe you got such a wonderful shot, holding 2 greyhounds!! they’re so very balletic, even in flight….

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 1 2013 10:06 am

      There has been many a shot I’ve missed in these conditions and got the sky or the ground. I brace myself as I could be pulled with some force in the opposite direction at any time if a rabbit or some such passed by as I’m taking the shot. As this was one handed with a compact, it owes more to luck than planning I think but I’ve learned to always have a camera to hand. You just never know what will turn up.

      • FeyGirl / Feb 1 2013 1:43 pm

        So true… SO very true! I think your idea of even having a compact handy is a fantastic idea! Really wonderful. I use my phone for such events, so far.

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 1 2013 2:40 pm

        My compact has enabled me to capture quite a few shots I would have missed. Of course there are times, like with the swan shot, I come back and think great composition, if only it was sharper and in RAW I could do this and that, and so on. Of course, if I’m honest with myself, if I had tried to get my DSLR set up I would have had a shot of the sky by the time I’d done it. So, it’s a compromise. For the blog, I mainly just want to capture routine stuff as I go about day to day, so most of the time it’s fine and just a bit of fun. I definitely recommend having a good compact about the place as a backup.

  3. Margarita / Feb 1 2013 1:12 am

    That is such a hard shot to get. Good for you for having ANY camera…and for us! xoM

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 1 2013 10:09 am

      Thanks for your kind words. The beauty of photography now is it’s possible to capture and share these very fleeting moments so readily.

      • Margarita / Feb 1 2013 2:24 pm

        Yes! I’m grateful everyday to be released from what I perceived as the tyranny of film developing. Without that constriction, I snap photos with joyful abandon! xoxoM

  4. knixie.net / Feb 1 2013 7:02 pm

    Wow, I have never seen swans in the air. In fact, the only swans I’ve seen have been in a wildlife sanctuary.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 1 2013 8:05 pm

      Hi. Thanks for dropping by my blog and taking time to comment. Swans are very common here. I could bore you with the history of the bird sometime if you’re interested. To me they are just stunning in flight, jaw dropping.

      • knixie.net / Feb 1 2013 8:07 pm

        They are! Your photo inspired me to look up more photos of them. Such a pretty bird, it’s a shame we don’t have them here!

  5. A New Path / Feb 2 2013 9:12 pm

    So beautiful. I love your blog. The trumpeter swans fly over our house in winter (USA) and they never cease to take my breath away with their beauty and the sound of their trumpet call and wings in the air.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 2 2013 9:17 pm

      Thank you very much for your kind words. Much appreciated. How wonderful to have trumpeters flying over. I always have that same sense of wonder you describe when flocks of birds fly over in formation, especially larger birds such as geese and swans.

Leave a Reply

