Skip to content
February 3, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Keeping an eye on things

Kestrel at restKestrel hovering

I came across this kestrel today.  As I was in an elevated position I had an unusually good view, though it wouldn’t let me get any closer than this unfortunately and kept edging away as I approached, so I let it be, rather than disturb it further.  A common enough bird in the UK but no less beautiful for that .  We often get excited about the rarer birds (I’m guilty of that too) but many common birds are just stunning  like this kestrel.  He was hovering over a steep bank searching for mice, voles, etc. and then returning to rest in the tree to the left of the second picture.  Watching a kestrel hold its position perfectly in the face of howling winds, as from a height it searches every blade of grass for the tiniest movement of its prey, then drops like a stone from the sky, is one of nature’s impressive sights.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. disperser / Feb 3 2013 11:05 pm

    We have them here, but I’ve only been lucky to get photos a couple of times. They don’t hang around.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 3 2013 11:12 pm

      I was lucky to get these. I happened to be walking along the top of the raised bank as the kestrel came along hunting. They are probably a little more accepting of humans here though as they would encounter them more often than where you are I guess.

  2. northerndesert / Feb 4 2013 8:29 pm

    Beautiful birds Kestrels. They are common here but difficult to photograph as they are quite shy. Well done!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 4 2013 10:28 pm

      I was fortunate to be walking along the top of a high bank at the time as often the view is one of looking straight up, leaving an image of a dark silhouette against the sky.

Leave a Reply

