Skip to content
February 6, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

A special garden visitor

Fox in the garden

This handsome fella is a regular visitor to the garden.  In fact we get a number pass through, I’m not sure how many.  They usually visit during the night but occasionally in the winter,  like this one today, they will come across in the day if they are hungry enough.  What with the foxes, sparrowhawks, kestrels, buzzards, tawny owls and weasels that we have visit the garden, I would not want to be a small furry creature around these parts.

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. northerndesert / Feb 6 2013 10:22 pm

    I think is fantastic when animals adapt and can live with us in the urban interface. You are lucky to have such diversity of wildlife around you and getting photos of it rocks. 🙂

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 6 2013 10:52 pm

      Thank you. I agree that I am lucky to be in a place where it’s possible to enjoy such a diverse wildlife. It’s even better come the spring/summer as the place really wakes up. Very easy to take it all for granted but I try hard not to.

  2. Touring NH / Feb 6 2013 11:32 pm

    Great shot of your visitor!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 7 2013 8:28 am

      Thank you. It does look like he is posing but I think he had picked me up and was on guard.

  3. FeyGirl / Feb 7 2013 1:00 am

    What a GORGEOUS creature… Foxes are one of my favorites, all-time favorites. You’re so fortunate.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 7 2013 8:33 am

      Thank you. I agree I am fortunate to have such nice surroundings and wildlife around me. It’s not spectacular like big game but it is none the less special. It’s capturing the everyday and the ‘not spectacular’ I hope to achieve with the blog, as a reminder to me how special the ‘not special’ can be, (if that makes sense).

      • FeyGirl / Feb 7 2013 1:40 pm

        Ah, totally. To me, the tiniest things are the most spectacular! But your foxes are beyond sublime. I’d be hard-pressed not to cuddle them.

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 7 2013 4:31 pm

        I’d love to get close to them too. Unfortunately not everyone is kindly disposed to foxes so in order for them to stay safe I have to make sure they stay wary of me and other people. In the very bad weather I make sure there is ice free water available and some food. I only put out enough food so that they can survive but still need to go hunting to prevent them becoming dependent on me. When the weather improves I slowly reduce until they don’t need me any more. Whenever I go out into the garden at night I also make a noise, (clap hands, whistle, shout) anything to make them scared of me. That way there is a good chance they’ll survive. Although last week there was a cub who hadn’t learned to be afraid of people and I had to chase it with a torch to make it run away from me. I felt awful and it sounds unkind but I know it would be a disaster if they learned to think everyone was a friend. It didn’t hurt because a little later the food was gone. I do love to see them and the heart always skips a little when I see them.

      • FeyGirl / Feb 10 2013 2:49 pm

        VERY wise…. I do the same, as much as it pains me. It would break my heart to have to do this with foxes, though. But it’s critical — as you say, for their ultimate protection. It’s a sad thing, but hopefully less people are cruel towards animals, and more are educated in their plight of survival.

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 10 2013 2:56 pm

        Yes it is sad but necessary to give them the best chance of surviving. I have to admire them from a distance.

  4. SongOf Creation / Feb 11 2013 9:35 am

    Very beautiful! What a gift to have fox showing up in your world! 🙂

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 11 2013 2:18 pm

      Thank you. I consider myself lucky to have so many visitors of one kind and another.

Leave a Reply

