Skip to content
February 12, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Rusting and forgotten but still beautiful

Old Sluice Gate

I’m getting a little ‘arty’ with this one.  This is what’s left of a 19th century sluice gate that once controlled the flow of water from the lake into the canal system.  The old wood and  rust have been made quite beautiful by the tranquil reflection.  I also like the fact it can no longer be reached and now sits in isolation, separated from the land.  No one can spoil it.  The wooden jetty that once connected it to the land, and which my son fished from as a small boy,  is long gone.  So here it will stay, reminding passers-by, and me, of another time.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. godspoetbychoice / Feb 13 2013 5:28 pm

    This picture makes me want to be out on the water where it is so peaceful! Thanks for stopping by my website and praying for us it means the world to us to know there are people out there that care. GodBless.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 13 2013 7:48 pm

      I pray that you will be blessed and your faith rewarded. I am looking forward to seeing you post some good news in the near future. Until then I, along with many others I’m sure, will be praying for you.

      • godspoetbychoice / Feb 13 2013 8:21 pm

        I will definitely let everyone know what happens take care and thanks for caring

  2. Gallivanta / Feb 19 2013 9:39 am

    Lovely reflection.

Leave a Reply

