Skip to content
February 16, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

The Age Of Steam Railway – It’s Not Over Yet

Steam Engine

This beautiful old steam engine sits in a Victorian railway station and seeing it in this setting rather than a museum, it is easy to be transformed back to a bygone era.  I am fortunate enough to live on this line which operates a steam train service during the summer months to Stratford upon Avon.  I love to hear the whistle of the engine in the distance as it thunders down the track.  It’s just magic.  There are a number of steam railways still operated in the UK staffed and supported by enthusiasts and they are hugely popular.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Erin Zimmerman / Feb 17 2013 4:26 am

    I took a steam train to see the Abernethy Highland Games in Scotland a few years ago. It was magical… it really does make you feel like you’re in another time.

  2. aj vosse / Feb 17 2013 9:36 am

    We have two loco operating here in Ireland… I’ve managed to get very close and almost personal with both and recorded it here on the blog…

  3. ericanichole / Feb 18 2013 4:35 am

    I currently have a mild obsession with old trains. There is just something glorious about them. My favorite bucket-list item on my personal list is to take a over-night trip (more than just one night ideally) on a passenger train, the older, the better 🙂

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 18 2013 8:49 am

      Good luck with the trip. It sounds like a great thing to do. I always fancied the Orient Express.

  4. The Rambling Man (aka The Night Hawk Photographer) / Feb 18 2013 12:41 pm

    I went on the Severn Valley Railway with my ex on Valentine’s Day in 2009, back when I lived in Brum; too perfect – dinner and a luxurious train journey in picturesque settings.

    I got a photo of one of the engines that pulls the Cathedrals Express from Victoria next to our usual bubblecar commuter trains – why can’t we commute in style any more?!? Hehe…

    Nice photo, I love the fact that it looks as if it’s been isolated there for a while – a bit of rust, cobwebs and so on. Adds to the “drama”… cheers for sharing and liking my post so I got a chance to see yours!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 18 2013 1:27 pm

      Thank you. Very much appreciated. I agree with you about the loss of commuting in style. It’s certainly more like ‘cattle truck’ than ‘style’ now.

  5. arjun bagga / Mar 2 2013 8:32 pm

    I just love trains!

  6. buildingmybento / Aug 7 2013 3:47 pm

    Thanks for liking my post about Javanese fig trees!

    Coming from the US, I can’t say we have a train system to be too proud of, though visiting Japan could make nearly anyone a temporary hobbyist in that subject! Have you visited the transport museum in London?

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Aug 7 2013 4:06 pm

      I have. We have a lot of interest generally in old forms of transport; buses, trains, cars cycles, etc. I live on the Stafford upon Avon line and it’s lovely to hear the regular steam train still chugging down the track. it just carries tourist now though of course.

Leave a Reply

