Skip to content
February 18, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Common but still handsome – the Black-headed Gull

Black-headed Gull

The commonest inland gull in the UK, the Black-headed Gull has a dark chocolate brown head in the breading season, (not actually black).   This one was looking a little less handsome today as it’s too early for that yet.  Not long to wait now though.  I have noticed this particular bird has taken a special liking to this perch and spends hours just sitting there.  Almost every time I pass he is on his own, just sitting, looking rather sad.  So I thought I would make him famous.  I liked the texture of the rusty perch and the subject obliged by allowing me to get quite close, so I thought it made a good shot.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. The Rambling Man (aka The Night Hawk Photographer) / Feb 18 2013 11:03 pm

    You’re right! He does have a sort of melancholy look about him. I was in Regent’s Park again today and captured a couple of really nice close ups of the wood pigeons and two particularly lovely photos of squirrels (granted, the commoner grey squirrel, but this is London after all!). Amazing what we think of as common and take for granted is really still quite amazing.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 19 2013 8:40 am

      I agree. I am always aware of Robert Capa’s famous statement that if your photographs are not good enough, you’re not close enough. Even the most mundane subject has interest if you can only get close enough. Conversely, fabulous subjects can be lost in the background and detail of a ‘busy’ photo.

      • The Rambling Man (aka The Night Hawk Photographer) / Feb 19 2013 9:17 am

        That can be used to good effect too though, sometimes I like to “lose” stuff in the background to bring out the ever more hustle-bustle lifestyle we lead.

        In the end, if just one person likes one of my photos, even if it’s just me, then I’m satisfied. That’s all I do it for, not posterity any more (which was my aim before, evident in the sheer number and rush of photos on my hard drive and lack of thought and composition in them) but as a document of my state of mind when I’m taking them. 🙂

        Cheers!

  2. Gallivanta / Feb 19 2013 9:36 am

    Very handsome gull.

  3. thegoozeberryjar / Feb 19 2013 10:13 am

    Good shot! I really like this, it reminds me of seeing a similarly wistful looking seagull in Teignmouth. He had also taken a liking to his particular perch (a sandbreak-type pole) and sat there staring out to sea for quite a while! Unfortunately he was too far out for me to capture a picture and ‘make him famous’ as you say 🙂

  4. Ionicphotography.co.uk / Feb 19 2013 6:57 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog…I love the idea behind yours, it’s different to others that I have seen. I have gone back to the start of the year to see all your pictures, and will re- visit your stories again – as I have only had time to read some of them. Very interesting – thanks !

Trackbacks

  1. Photo of the day: Squirreling away | The Ineffable and Unutterable Musings Of A Mad Man

Leave a Reply

