Skip to content
February 20, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Cycling home on a winter evening

Cycling home on a winter evening

This photo is better enlarged.  Two clicks should do it.  This photograph breaks a few ‘rules’ but that’s not always a bad thing.  I was interested by the image of this chap cycling home across the causeway, an insignificant figure and just about to disappear off shot; a journey he makes every night and I wondered how aware he was of his surroundings, which to me look beautiful.  All that’s behind him, and he probably just wants to get home for his dinner.  I’ve done a similar thing many times myself.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. youngontheroad / Feb 20 2013 11:37 pm

    It’s always interesting to put yourself in someone elses body (not literally…). I often think about this when I see an airplane flying above. I think of the people inside and who they are, where they are headed…

  2. Gallivanta / Feb 21 2013 9:23 am

    I think on a winter’s evening the cyclist would be concentrating on getting home as fast as possible. He will probably be looking forward to warmer days when he can take his time and enjoy his environment more.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 21 2013 10:03 am

      Agreed. When the wind blows across the lakes in the winter it feels like it can cut you in half.

  3. The Rambling Man (aka The Night Hawk Photographer) / Feb 21 2013 9:32 am

    I do that constant “body switching” malarkey any day I decide to walk instead of getting the tube, looking at all the businesspeople, kids, mothers, tramps, and other assorted visitors to this planet we call Earth, and think, what’s going on in their heads, what’s driving them, what’s making them huddle their heads into their shoulders and scurry on without taking note of what’s around them.

    It’s on those days that I tend to become more aware of the surrounding beauty of the city, warts and all; then, like today, I return to being one of the crowd, huddled into myself, trying to get to work as quickly as possible, scurrying on my own little way, and wondering if someone else is looking at me in the same way I was looking at them the previous day.

    Beautifully encapsulated in that photo. Would be nice to do a painting à l’impressioniste, it’s a perfect scene for it. Or maybe in the style of Constable. Yes, definitely Constable.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 21 2013 10:07 am

      Thank you. I was attracted by the subject of the photo actually being on the edge of it, almost out of shot.

      • The Rambling Man (aka The Night Hawk Photographer) / Feb 21 2013 10:54 am

        Yeah, it emphasises the catching a “glimpse” of life in motion.

  4. Victoria / Feb 21 2013 2:56 pm

    Gorgeous shot!

Leave a Reply

