Skip to content
February 25, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Carved Head On Church Porch

Sandstone Head r

This handsome carved head in sandstone sits at the entrance to the porch of the local church.  I confess to not paying it a lot of attention until today and I have passed it regularly for over twenty-five years but when walking through the churchyard I was taken by the expression in the face and I think it has a really quite haunting quality to it.  I am left wondering who he was and why that expression.  Sadly the sandstone has been eroded over the years; a problem for many such buildings.  Amazing what you can overlook for years.  I have made a mental note to look up more often.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Susanne Haun / Feb 26 2013 7:51 am

    I like this portrait scupture. It looks really impressive!

  2. The Rambling Man (aka The Night Hawk Photographer) / Feb 26 2013 9:14 am

    Nice photo!

    I think it’s precisely because of the erosion that you get the haunting effect. There’s also a wistful sort of look in his eyes. You’re right, it is amazing what you see when you just look. I’m “looking” and “seeing” far more often now, but not forcing it; I walk a lot more around London now, and sometimes I just like to keep my head down and huddled and get on with it but a lot of the time I’ve got my eyes open, looking for things that I’ve never seen, and which most people probably haven’t seen either (with a view to going back in the evening when dusk is falling and capturing those images in the darkness of night).

    So far I have a lot of work to do. And I love it. Keep watching out on my blog for some new shots, I’m just a bit snowed under at the moment with my day job and organizing moving house that I haven’t had a chance to upload them yet (two sets are awaiting editing, captioning, commenting and uploading… hopefully in the next week or so one set will go up).

  3. karubiu / Feb 26 2013 2:22 pm

    You actually reminded me of something.. Funny how our brains get lost and indulged till we tend to forget.. intentionally or unintentionally, we end up forgetting simple things in life.

  4. godspoetbychoice / Feb 28 2013 2:23 am

    It’s blogs like this that have inspired me to take my camera out and start photographing some of the scenery in my own backyard. The years fly by all to quickly. We have a small hobby farm and we had a barn cat that used to sleep on the back of a draft horse we had.and I always meant to take a picture but never actually got around to it. Sadly the cat passed away suddenly and my chance to capture that memory was gone. I know I will never forget that moment but it would have been nice to have a picture to shar e with others. I am not a photographer but your blog has inspired me to try!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 28 2013 8:53 am

      Thank you, that’s very kind. I absolutely agree that it’s important to try and capture those everyday moments. Especially now it is so easy with digital cameras. I am a keen photographer but the photos on the blog are mostly just taken with a compact as I go about my normal routine. Looking back on these it is already a great reminder; a sort of photo diary.

Leave a Reply

