Skip to content
February 26, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Not that way. Over here!

Great Crested Grebes

The Great Crested Grebe is a common bird in the UK and absolutely gorgeous.  The mating display is a bizarre, balletic dance that has to be seen to be believed.  I am just catching glimpses of it now and soon I will be witness to the full display, which I find breathtaking.  If you are not familiar with it do have a search on YouTube.  I know there is a North American bird, which I think is called the Western  Grebe which puts on a similar performance.  I grabbed this shot as I liked the way in which they lined up for me and as I watched, the one always seemed to be out of synch with the other two.  If we ever see the sun again in the UK, I will get some more shots of the Grebes, as I love them.  Hopefully the light will be better and I can do them justice.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Avinash Hindupur / Feb 27 2013 8:51 am

    Looked up the dance display video of these Grebes, amazing! Found out they visit India in winter too, now I can go and have a look at them for real!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 27 2013 9:11 am

      Great. Though I know you are blessed with many exotic and beautiful birds and animals in India, you must be spoilt for choice.

      • Avinash Hindupur / Feb 27 2013 4:43 pm

        Haha, true! Many colorful wonders are here. But I have made a point to watch them long enough to see their dances and duets after reading this post!

  2. godspoetbychoice / Feb 28 2013 2:14 am

    I love this picture, it reminds me how fun it is to take the canoe out aqd watch the wildlife on the lake. We are in the grips of a winter storm in Northern Ontario, Canada and I am longing for the spring.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 28 2013 8:48 am

      I thought our winter was bad enough but that does sound bad. Good luck with it. Spring can’t be far away now.

Leave a Reply

