Skip to content
March 1, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Ivy on a tree

Ivy on tree bark

Well this blog is about seeing the wonder in the ‘ordinary’ and it doesn’t get much more ordinary than a tree trunk.  But when was the last time you had a really close look.  I love the tactile quality of trees.  I’m more of a tree stroker than a tree hugger.  I liked the wonderful texture of the bark.  I left the orientation of this shot horizontal because I simply enjoyed the abstract quality of it that way.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. stawastawa / Mar 8 2013 6:05 am

    I enjoy! The flash is a little harsh, but I think the exposure is good and it brings a nice light to it that shows texture and the leaf-tree color contrast well.
    cheers

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Mar 8 2013 8:23 am

      Thank you. It was actually natural light with no flash at all. It was strong low angle sunlight, which I agree did bring out the relief pattern and texture of the tree bark, which is what attracted me to take the shot.

Leave a Reply

