Skip to content
March 3, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Forgotten corner of the churchyard

Forgotten corner of the churchyard

I find this a peaceful scene, which I took this morning, (appropriate for a Sunday).  It’s of an older part of the churchyard and leads the eye through to the more recent burials in the distance.  I took it because I just liked the scene but on viewing it I realised it’s an odd thought to reflect that this is where I will end up, somewhere around the vanishing point in this photograph and I don’t say that in a morbid way at all.  I am perfectly okay with that, just not for a while yet.  I often walk through here and consider some of the stories behind the headstones.  Some very old, some very recent.  Some are known to me, and very sadly, there are some that were friends of my children.  Something I still struggle with.  I don’t want you to think I have a thing about churchyards (but I probably do);  I just simply seem to pass through quite often.  If it’s not something you would normally consider, I recommend a walk through your local churchyard.  A great place for reflection in a busy world.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Victoria / Mar 3 2013 11:18 pm

    Cemeteries have been long-time favourite place of mine, since childhood. There is great peace, and reflection there. I’d often go out of my way to visit the local cemeteries, during times of great duress. It is a perfect picture for Sunday.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Mar 3 2013 11:23 pm

      Thank you. I know some might think of churchyards as spooky but I have never had that feeling. I find them very much places of peace and reflection, as you say.

  2. Steve Schwartzman / Mar 4 2013 1:34 pm

    Your (possibly subconscious) play on words about a vanishing point is wonderful.

    Cemeteries (we don’t much use the term churchyard in the United States) have appealed to me as a photographic subject since the 1960s. Those in Latin America are more colorful than the ones in our Anglo tradition, but all bring home the same point. And speaking of color, I’m especially fond of cemeteries that have been allowed to revert to a semi-natural state, which in Texas implies a covering of wildflowers in the spring. You can see a couple of examples at:

    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2011/07/04/a-one-day-departure/

    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2011/07/03/texas-thistle-as-butterfly-attractor/

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Mar 4 2013 4:42 pm

      I did reflect on the choice of words and thought I’d leave it in as it works both ways. It will indeed be my vanishing point. Great shots of wild flowers by the way and impressive blog you have. This churchyard and many others in the UK have areas set aside for nature to take over. They have become havens for wild flowers, birds and other creatures struggling to find a place in the countryside, which is often marked by ever more efficient farming methods. Usually that means more chemicals, less hedgerows, fewer species, and so on. I will post some more shots later in the spring and summer as people seem to like them. Texas must be a great place to photograph. Maybe one day I’ll get there with my camera.

  3. InnerDialect / Mar 5 2013 3:47 am

    some of my best memories are in such places, even currently, I revert. THe very first was on a hill and I can only paint my pic with words, cuz we had no camera then. There were lilies outside, these pews and I pigeon in the long stained glass windows… outside was a walk thru’ lilies and a hillside stuck in a very blue sky and the old people’s home where Aunty Jordain as we called her, waited for us with her awe inspiring drink ( Scanjammy?!)… ah well, you brought back so many memories and I see they never left… thank you for an truly refreshing space here…

  4. InnerDialect / Mar 5 2013 3:49 am

    I wrote in such a rush… sorrryyyy for the spell mistakes… ‘ thank you for a truly refreshing space here..”

  5. Argus / Sep 4 2013 9:20 am

    I still think the dead make the best neighbours …

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Sep 4 2013 5:18 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and all your comments. Appreciate it. I agree. When ever someone expresses fear about ghosts and the like, I always say it’s the ones still alive you need to worry about.

      • Argus / Sep 4 2013 9:52 pm

        I figure with ghosties; you leave them alone and they’ll leave you alone.

        I bogged down a van in a graveyard in the middle of the night once in the days before cellphones and services, had no option but to further demolish a vandalised grave to make a sort of causeway. We got out okay, and the spooks took it in good spirits …

Leave a Reply

