Skip to content
March 10, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Sailing by on a Sunday afternoon

Sailing by

I think this is a very British scene of people pottering around in boats, even though it’s cold, wet and grey.  Something I love to do myself.  As Rat said to Mole in Wind In The Willows,  ‘…there is nothing-absolute nothing -half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats.’   Though I would love to mess about in boats under a blue sky and a warm sun.

‘Sailing by’ in the title refers to a favourite tune of mine (do have a look on YouTube if you’re interested) and it is played just before the late shipping forecast on Radio 4 in the UK.  It has been part of my life for decades and it is so gentle and hypnotic it’s virtually impossible to stay awake for the forecast.   I am now trained like a Pavlovian dog to fall asleep after the first few bars no matter where I am or what time of day or night it is.  I challenge anyone not be lulled into a soporific state before it finishes.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Gallivanta / Mar 14 2013 5:07 am

    I must listen. Though I don’t need any assistance falling off to sleep!

  2. Mary Strong-Spaid / Mar 15 2013 7:34 pm

    OOps wrong video…that’s a good song too, but not the one that I meant to post.
    Here is Chariots of Fire:

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Mar 15 2013 8:01 pm

      Thanks for that. Yes, know that sound well. I must say , the thought of sailing in Hawaii sounds much more attractive than the UK in winter.

Leave a Reply

