Skip to content
March 11, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Love Hearts

Great Crested Grebes making love hearts

These two Great Crested Grebes are just starting to go into their courting ritual and I noticed they were actually forming the heart shape between them, which is sweet, so I thought I would share.

I’ve posted a few bird shots recently because it has just been too cold to go far from home.  I took my gloves off to take this shot today and lost the feeling in my fingers within seconds.  I had to blow into my gloves afterwards to get the feeling back and I thought I had frost damage.  How can any creature be thinking of mating in this weather? Hopefully I will be able to venture further afield soon.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Gallivanta / Mar 14 2013 5:05 am

    Just making a heart must warm their hearts 🙂

  2. adrikaswaminathan / Mar 18 2013 1:00 pm

    perfectly tied picture! 🙂

  3. adrikaswaminathan / Mar 18 2013 1:00 pm

    *timed

Leave a Reply

