Skip to content
March 13, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Together always

Swans

 

I admit it; I have a thing about swans.  They are just so beautiful and I could watch and photograph them all day.  I shot this today and I felt it was such a lovely moment I had to share it.  I did capture lots more but enough is as good as a feast, as we say.   The two adult swans were trying to ‘encourage’ a remaining cygnet, (well more young adult) that winter is over and it’s time to move on and become independent.   These are the two adults in this picture and the cygnet was out of shot to the far right.  You can see from the joint approach by air and water they mean business.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Annie's Place / Mar 13 2013 8:27 pm

    I also like swans. Nice photo.

  2. wheelynotwhatiwanted / Mar 14 2013 7:01 am

    Gorgeous photos of the swans. In the harbour in the town we live in we have a (thinks of proper word for lots of) swans at the moment, and 2 black ones. Would you mind if I pinched your idea to take some pictures of them, as the surroundings are quite historic too?

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Mar 14 2013 9:26 am

      Kind of you to ask but swans are for everyone to enjoy to just me. Pleased I gave you some ideas. Looking at others’ work is a great way to get ideas and then put your own angle on it. I always find birds in action much more interesting than if they are just sitting on water, which you do see a lot of, unless it’s a particularly special shot, which it sometimes is. Not always possible but makes for great shots.

Leave a Reply

