Skip to content
March 15, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Head in the clouds

altocumulus lenticularis

This is a shot of altocumulus lenticularis sitting over Warwickshire in the UK.   I was taken by the window that appeared in the clouds and then this bizarre cloud shape higher in the sky.  I believe this is the cloud formation that is often offered as an explanation for some UFO sightings.  I love clouds and am sad enough to belong to the Cloud Appreciation Society, and yes I photograph them.  I spend flights glued to the window looking at clouds.  One thing we do well in the UK is clouds.  When I shot this, within five minutes the sky went from bright blue to very dark grey and everything in between with fluffy white puff balls to something resembling the end of the world.  I hope some others out there enjoy clouds too.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. disperser / Mar 15 2013 9:20 pm

    I remember the illusion of clouds, but really, I don’t know them very well.

    . . . but I’ve looked at clouds like that, even though they get in the way.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Mar 15 2013 9:57 pm

      That’s almost a Joni Mitchell lyric.

      • disperser / Mar 15 2013 10:06 pm

        Mitchell, Mitchell . . . nope, I really don’t know Mitchell at all. But if I did, I would not give myself away.

  2. Jonathan Klizas / Mar 16 2013 9:42 am

    Listen to Claude Debussy’s Nuages. He gets it.

  3. Margarita / Mar 16 2013 2:02 pm

    Oh, I don’t know…we do clouds pretty well in NYC, too! 😉 xoxoM

  4. Sherri Stone / Mar 17 2013 9:32 pm

    I love clouds and love seeing shapes in them. One of my favorite restful things to do:-)

  5. ferociousdawn / Mar 23 2013 4:07 am

    Beautiful I love the art in the sky

Leave a Reply

