Skip to content
April 4, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

The sun is back

Sky at sunset a

 

Sunset over Warwickshire in the UK.  It may not mean much to many people but this is the most beautiful sunset I have seen in months; really.  After months of endless grey and bitter cold, the sun has returned   I know how the ancients felt now and they didn’t have the benefit of central heating.  The average temperature for March was 2.2c.  It was the coldest winter for fifty years, following the wettest summer for 100 years.  It’s still coldish for April but I thank God the sun is back.  It’s very exciting.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jawahar / Apr 4 2013 9:31 pm

    This is such a warming sight! Was it today? We had snow over here in Cambs..

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Apr 4 2013 11:02 pm

      Yes. I took the photo this evening. We did have some snow this morning. The wind is still bitterly cold but the sunset was wonderful and I hope it’s a sign of what is to come.

  2. Touring NH / Apr 4 2013 9:38 pm

    I know what you mean!! It got up to 13° (56° F) here today, but I still have snow piles over a meter tall in my yard, but it was glorious to be outside without my winter coat! C’mon spring!!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Apr 4 2013 11:07 pm

      13C sounds wonderful. I imagine it will just burst out all over when it arrives. I can’t wait. Surprisingly one of the things I miss the most are the sight and sound of insects. I suppose I think of how much depends on them. I hope not to see any swifts, martins or swallows yet as they will simply starve if they make the crossing now. And the bees had such a bad year last year, they really need the chance to recover. No doubt I will be photographing everything that moves over the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

