Skip to content
June 3, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Ferreting about

Ferret on the loose r

This beautiful creature was spotted running loose and after a quick scramble was captured and taken into safe keeping for its own good and that of the local population of small animals.  Beautiful as they are, ferrets have a well deserved reputation as a hunter and very sharp teeth.  Although I am assured that they are friendly and devoted to their owner if handled regularly, being a bit of a softy, I like my fingers too much, so I will take their word for it. I know that in some parts of the world ferret ownership is strictly controlled, and I believe they caused particular problems in New Zealand.  In the UK they remain a popular pet as they have been for many years.  This fella fell fast asleep as soon as he was taken into custody, so I imagine he’d been running wild for a while.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Gallivanta / Jun 3 2013 9:59 pm

    They look very cute.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jun 3 2013 10:55 pm

      Indeed they do. Really striking and I’m sure a great pet.

      • Gallivanta / Jun 3 2013 11:06 pm

        I know someone who had pet ferrets and used to put a harness on them and take them for walks.

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Jun 3 2013 11:14 pm

        Yes, I’ve seen that too but I thought it looked a bit odd; like taking the cat for a walk.

      • Gallivanta / Jun 3 2013 11:19 pm

        😀

  2. Beachbums1 / Jun 4 2013 6:54 am

    Adorable looking!

Leave a Reply

