Skip to content
June 6, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Beginning to come out of his shell

snail r

Now I  know beauty is in the eye of the beholder but you have to admit it, this snail is pretty damn good looking, if a little slimy.  I found him in the house , under a chair; probably brought in by one of the dogs.  He tried to make a run for it but didn’t get far.  One good thing about photographing snails, you can take all the time you need. I was even able to try indoor and outdoor shots before he got bored and wandered off.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kiwiskan / Jun 6 2013 9:22 pm

    …watch out. He’s looking for your lettuces!

  2. Jawahar / Jun 6 2013 10:10 pm

    My first instinct was to go and get snail pellets out :).. But you’re right in that they’re great for photography..

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jun 6 2013 10:22 pm

      They have their place; I just wish it wasn’t my garden. They are fascinating to observe though, especially climbing on a window, which provides some great photo opportunities.

  3. Gallivanta / Jun 7 2013 9:37 am

    I am glad to know someone else has them indoors and climbing on windows.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jun 7 2013 11:28 am

      Actually during the wet weather we had for so long, it seemed we were plagued with them and I was throwing them out every night. They can be bad for the dogs so I worry about them getting eaten by them.

      • Gallivanta / Jun 7 2013 11:37 am

        I didn’t know they were bad for dogs. My dog hasn’t shown much interest in them fortunately. I wish I were brave enough to try and eat them.

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Jun 7 2013 2:03 pm

        Slugs can cause lungworm in dogs if eaten. It’s deadly so best be careful. I remove any slugs and snails I find to protect the dogs and the garden.

      • Gallivanta / Jun 8 2013 12:57 am

        Good to know.

Leave a Reply

