Skip to content
June 13, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

The Poppy

Poppy r

I love the poppy.  This beauty is growing in my front garden and I was struck by it as I passed today following a heavy shower.  I thought how particularly beautiful it looked with the rain droplets on it.  The poppy will be forever associated with Remembrance for me, as with most in the UK, and I always think of the many that have fought for their country and my grandfather in particular whenever I see a poppy.  He was in the cavalry and survived WWI, thanks to a horse that kicked him in the face and broke his jaw. He was invalided out just before he was due to go to the Somme. God bless that horse.  Without that horse, he (and I) wouldn’t be here.  That’s probably where my love of animals came from.  That’s a bit of a ramble but I did say seeing a poppy has that effect on me.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kiwiskan / Jun 13 2013 9:56 pm

    A lovely fresh photo

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jun 13 2013 10:26 pm

      Thanks. It’s been a cool wet day today but the flowers look lovely and fresh as a result.

  2. rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 14 2013 12:53 am

    Lovely story. My grandfather was in the Somme and thankfully survived. Love this image as it reminds me of poppies falling from the roof at rememberance day services in the albert hall.

  3. Gallivanta / Jun 14 2013 9:07 am

    My grandfather was invalided home too. I have tried to grow poppies but without success. Yours is beautiful.

  4. araneus1 / Jun 14 2013 11:00 am

    The poppy has the same significance here in Australia and I too have a similar story of chance that influenced my family and without it I would not be here.
    http://araneus1.wordpress.com/2013/02/08/a-tale-of-three-brothers/
    Terry

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jun 14 2013 11:43 am

      I often reflect on how slender the margin is between disaster and life carrying on as normal for all of us. Sometimes that margin is a hair’s breadth. I’ve had it myself too, with a motorbike accident years ago. I walked away (well more crawled and limped) but it was only chance it wasn’t a disaster and nothing I did. It could just as well have gone the other way. (I don’t ride a motorbike anymore). Had my grandfather not bent down at that exact moment what might have happened to him in the days that followed? He probably cursed like mad at the time. How lucky he was.

  5. colorfulifeblogger / Jun 14 2013 6:49 pm

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

