Skip to content
July 6, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Glorious hotchpotch

Glorious hotchpotch r

I mentioned the slightly untidy and overgrown nature of the garden yesterday, so I thought I would illustrate it with a photo. This is just a little corner of what I would describe as a glorious hotchpotch.  It may not be tidy but the garden is full of insects and pretty much most of what creeps, hops, slithers, flies, swims and crawls in an English garden so it can’t be all that bad. It’s just a fabulous time of year at the moment here in the UK; just glorious.  I have to try to capture as much as I can to last me through the winter. Plenty of time for that though.

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. stanze / Jul 6 2013 8:14 pm

    I like it. It looks similar here in the wild corners.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jul 6 2013 9:04 pm

      Thank you. I do think gardens are often just too tidy. There’s no room left for the creatures we all depend on so much.

  2. katiekinsman22 / Jul 6 2013 8:41 pm

    I love your picture — and I love this kind of gardening. A little wild, a little cultivated! I always take it as a compliment from nature when I find new creatures living in my tiny little patch of garden space! I have some small preying mantis’s this year! They’re so cute!!

  3. kiwiskan / Jul 6 2013 9:13 pm

    We’ve got pretty wild parts in our garden as well. My excuse is that we leave it to encourage all the beneficial insects – as it does

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jul 6 2013 11:18 pm

      Absolutely right too. Problem is many gardens are just too neat and tidy. Where are all the little creatures to find somewhere to live? I love the surprise of finding something living in or visiting the garden.

      • kiwiskan / Jul 7 2013 7:31 am

        We’re just in the throes of converting our old letterbox into a bumble bee home

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Jul 7 2013 8:55 am

        What a good idea. I’d like to see how that works.

  4. Gallivanta / Jul 7 2013 2:09 am

    It’s glorious, just like that wonderful word hotchpotch. Every garden should have some hotchpotch.

  5. godspoetbychoice / Jul 7 2013 11:33 pm

    We have patches of wild flowers that look similar to these, love your pictures!

Leave a Reply

