Skip to content
July 10, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Elderly female comes out of her shell

Tortoise

I thought you might like an update on my tortoise, which I introduced to everyone back in March.  We’ve been together a very long time indeed. She’s been sunbathing everyday and having a great time in the hot weather. As you can see she’s looking good, though I think her complexion tells you all you need to know about staying out in the sun too long. She gets very aggressive when it’s hot like this and chases me round the garden for food. There’s plenty to eat, I think she just likes chasing me.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kiwiskan / Jul 10 2013 9:03 pm

    I love that vision of her chasing you round the garden…

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jul 10 2013 9:16 pm

      I know it sounds an exaggeration but she does actually do it. Yesterday I almost fell over trying to walk backwards while putting food down as she kept charging towards my feet quicker than I could get the food on the floor, so we were going around in circles, me going backwards and her chasing me. I was actually trying to chew some apple up and remove the peel to make it easier for her to eat and I couldn’t do it quick enough for her liking and she wasn’t prepared to wait.

      • Reinhardt / Jul 10 2013 10:30 pm

        Hehehe… 🙂

      • kiwiskan / Jul 10 2013 11:25 pm

        😀

  2. Reinhardt / Jul 10 2013 10:30 pm

    Lovely! 🙂

  3. Gallivanta / Jul 11 2013 12:21 am

    So pleased to have an update. I have been wondering about her and if she is enjoying the hotchpotch state of your garden.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jul 11 2013 8:32 am

      Yes, she enjoys wandering around at this time of year. She does have a habit of burying herself in various places but I’ve got to know her favourite spots, which makes it easier to find her.

Leave a Reply

