Skip to content
July 12, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Buzzard fly by

Buzzard 2

This very handsome buzzard was a nice easy shot to capture.  It was a little snatched, as it was taken from my bedroom window this morning. I just had time to grab my camera before it flew over the house. I see or hear  them most days and they have become bolder over the years. That’s a good sign for the countryside, as it means the food supply must be there.  They were persecuted for many years in the UK and numbers dwindled. Now, through protection measures being taken, they are back in numbers.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. RunnerDuck / Jul 12 2013 9:40 pm

    Nice picture and tough to get. If you read my blog today it was all about birds, we must be on the same track 🙂 http://www.coupevilleimpressions.com

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jul 12 2013 10:16 pm

      Thanks. I’m having problems seeing your posts on your blog. Not sure why but I can only access one post.

      • RunnerDuck / Jul 12 2013 11:20 pm

        Glad you found it, I was starting to worry that something was wrong, thanks for letting me know.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jul 12 2013 10:18 pm

      I found it. I was looking at the wrong site.

  2. Gallivanta / Jul 13 2013 9:24 am

    That’s really encouraging that there is more food for them.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jul 13 2013 11:00 am

      It is. I remember about twenty-five years ago, I got very excited one day sitting in the garden and I looked up to see a buzzard circling. I was telling everyone what I’d seen (well everyone who might be interested). Now, I see them everyday. It’s great. As you say, the countryside must be in good shape to support them.

  3. godspoetbychoice / Jul 14 2013 8:56 pm

    We don’t have buzzards in Ontario, Canada but we do have a bird called a turkey vulture and they are really big. Once we were driving down our country road and one swooped down and flew for awhile right in front of the truck and his wing span was as wide as our vehicle. I remember thinking at the time I wish I had a camera!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jul 14 2013 11:09 pm

      I’d love to see that. I am what is known in the UK as a ‘birder’ and I love my birds. I think of them as the barometer of the environment. If they are doing okay, pretty much everything else is too.

Leave a Reply

