Skip to content
July 27, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Just a little frog alone in a great big world.

little frog

An update on the frogs I’m rearing. It’s fascinating to watch these tiny little creatures. The breeding programme was a great success. I have thousands of them and they are everywhere. I am frightened to walk in the garden for fear of treading on them. I find them hopping everywhere. Well, they’re off in to the big wide world now. I wonder how many will make it through to next year. It will be interesting to find out what difference it has made.

18 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. RMW / Jul 27 2013 9:55 pm

    So I am assuming you didn’t give them all individual names?

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jul 28 2013 2:13 pm

      Now that would just be silly, although…. I actually did develop something of a paternal instinct. Shooing the newts away from eating my little frogs, etc. I have been raising them for months after all. However, I have tried to curtail this natural instinct and am now letting nature get on with things.

  2. Gallivanta / Jul 28 2013 1:51 am

    Eww; the possibility of squished frog. Not good for you or the frog. Will they return for the next breeding season?

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jul 28 2013 2:14 pm

      I hope so, that’s the plan. Frogs have taken a bit of a bashing over the last few years so they need a boost in numbers.

      • Gallivanta / Jul 28 2013 2:21 pm

        It’s a pity you can’t tag or mark them in some way so you know which frogs are the newcomers and which are the homecomers.

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Jul 28 2013 3:37 pm

        I will go by size. I will be able to tell 1st year, 2nd year, etc. So a 1st year in the pond next spring will almost certainly be a returner. There will be a huge attrition rate but that is to be expected.

      • Gallivanta / Jul 28 2013 10:47 pm

        You have a very interesting project.

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Jul 28 2013 11:00 pm

        I guess so but I just like frogs.

  3. kiwiskan / Jul 28 2013 2:35 am

    I love frogs, and they are becoming rare in many places in the world. Thanks for doing your share

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jul 28 2013 2:17 pm

      I love them too. They do seem to have a character about them. It’s strange why people like them as they are quite alien creatures yet they have a lovable side. Maybe it’s those Toad of Toad Hall stories as kids.

      • kiwiskan / Jul 28 2013 11:30 pm

        probably 🙂

  4. rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 28 2013 6:22 am

    Hello there. Big thanks for being part of my online community. I’d like to nominate you for the WordPress Family Award – see http://rubytheblacklabrador.wordpress.com/2013/07/28/wordpress-family-award/ From Ruby xx

  5. andelieya 安德洌雅 (official) / Jul 28 2013 7:18 pm

    How sweet!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jul 28 2013 7:33 pm

      Thank you. They are lovely little things. I think their charm is that they are a perfect little replica of the adult but just very, very tiny. To see them hop off across the lawn looks ridiculous; this tiny creature setting off into this enormous world.

  6. godspoetbychoice / Jul 30 2013 5:15 am

    I love frogs too. When I was small we went camping and I would spend the majority of the day catching frogs in the swamp it was a wonderful way to spend the day.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jul 30 2013 8:30 am

      Yes, it was fascinating to watch frogs and tadpoles. I have no idea why but I have never lost that.

Leave a Reply

