Skip to content
August 3, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Peacock on Buddleia

Peacock

 

Time spent watching a Buddleia must be about as much fun as you can have with a plant. It keeps me amused for hours (but perhaps I am easily amused). It is a feeding station for so much insect life; they just adore it and they keep coming day and night. This gorgeous peacock butterfly was stocking up while it could. In fact the bush was swarming with butterflies and everything else.  I had to force myself to stop watching the spectacle and do something useful; then I’d decide that was useful and I’d just go and have another look and so the day went on.

22 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sheri Garvin / Aug 3 2013 11:32 pm

    Ha! I knew I was not the only one, surely, who could be so easily amused! I have spent the day watching a photographing my butterfly bushes today. I have never seen one of these tho. Not sure we have them here in Indiana, USA.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Aug 3 2013 11:42 pm

      Delighted to find I’m not alone. The Peacock is one of the most common butterflies in the UK but no less beautiful for that. Butterflies here have had it tough as last year was very wet, we had the coldest winter for fifty years and a very cold spring with heavy snow up to late April. I’m surprised we have any butterflies at all. So I was delighted to see the bush covered with them almost as soon as it flowered.

      • Sheri Garvin / Aug 4 2013 12:10 am

        That is wonderful! Our Monarchs have been declining because of pesticides… I am always thrilled when I see one, which is rare. Amazing how excited a little fella like this can make us.

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Aug 4 2013 8:10 am

        Thank you. They do give great pleasure for sure.

  2. Gallivanta / Aug 4 2013 12:27 am

    What fun! Strangely, the buddleia (not sure which variety) is very frowned upon in New Zealand. It is a weed of concern and we are encouraged to remove it from our gardens/not grow it at all. But the butterflies do love it.

  3. RunnerDuck / Aug 4 2013 12:37 am

    Very nicely done, what a beautiful photo. I love the color combinations, thanks for sharing.

  4. amithi / Aug 4 2013 3:54 am

    Two days ago I followed a pair of Banded Demoiselle along a river admiring the male’s colour until they crossed to the other side. I spent half an hour yesterday watching a young blackbird shoving around old leaves under a bush. I would have watched longer, but I had to go to work. So yes, I completely understand. 😉

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Aug 4 2013 8:13 am

      It’s a great joy to take time to stop and admire the beauty around. Sadly we all seem to have so little time to do it.

  5. kiwiskan / Aug 4 2013 5:56 am

    We call Buddleia butterfly flowers here as well. Lovely photo

  6. rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 4 2013 9:52 am

    I love watching their eyes so as the wings move – mesmerising!

  7. hitandrun1964 / Aug 4 2013 12:59 pm

    I never saw that butterfly before. It’s beautiful. The colors so rich and lush.Thank you.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Aug 4 2013 1:37 pm

      Thank you and you’re welcome. It’s a Peacock and quite common in the UK but still gorgeous.

  8. Paz / Aug 6 2013 3:08 am

    I’m glad you went back to watching and took this photo. It’s a terrific shot! I think I’ll watch what happens on a Buddleia, next time.

  9. Sweet as a Picture / Aug 6 2013 5:55 am

    Beuatiful sight!

  10. Margaret L. Sharp (@MargaretLynett1) / Aug 23 2013 1:02 am

    I love butterflies, but I’m yet to be able to take a photograph of them! Such a lovely shot, congratulations! 🙂

  11. Karen's Nature Art / Aug 23 2013 4:29 pm

    I could easily spend the day watching and photographing butterflies-glad you took the time to do so! Thanks for visiting my blog…

Leave a Reply

