Skip to content
August 6, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Comma

Comma

No, it’s not a punctuation mark, it’s a butterfly. This is the Comma, (its name taken from the little white mark on the underside of its wing). I’m not sure where outside the UK this appears. It had become quite rare a few years ago but has made a comeback. I think it must be the nettles I grow all over my untidy garden. I know I’ve posted a few butterfly shots but I do think they are lovely and I have to capture what I can of the Buddleia and its visitors before it’s over, which will be all too soon.

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Bren / Aug 6 2013 8:07 pm

    What beautiful colours.

  2. lljostes / Aug 6 2013 9:20 pm

    A comma is a pause, a means to accentuate, and the beautiful comma butterfly does just that. That’s for the pause in my busy day! blessings ~

  3. Ruth Amick / Aug 7 2013 6:42 am

    That reminds me of a former patient of mine. She bemoaned the fact that she was not well enough to go to any of the spots in CA known to be attractive to monarchs. I sprinkled milkweed seeds throughout her back yard and when they had grown up, her butterfly and bird garden became a monarch host home!

  4. Gallivanta / Aug 7 2013 7:46 am

    And do you make nettle soup or just leave the nettles for the butterflies ? 🙂

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Aug 7 2013 8:46 am

      No, I’ve never tried nettle soup or anything like that. I understand that they are full of nutrients but I have never fancied that. Too prickly for me. I just allow some to grow where they are not a nuisance and keep them under control as they will take over if left. It’s a big garden and there’s plenty of room for a few ‘weeds’, etc.

      • Gallivanta / Aug 7 2013 8:58 am

        I haven’t tried them either. But I would like to. They don’t grow in my garden but I can assure you that lots of other weeds do!

  5. Iamrcc / Aug 7 2013 5:48 pm

    Butterflies always seek nice places, so your garden must be a nice place to visit. Thanks for the like of my post “Bottom Blur”.

  6. Sweet as a Picture / Aug 7 2013 10:49 pm

    Oh, how lovely! I have to see if this butterfly appears in my neck of the woods. I love its name. 🙂

  7. meticulousmick / Aug 20 2013 10:57 pm

    Gorgeous detail and light. MM

Leave a Reply

