Skip to content
August 18, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Dahlia and counting the days of summer

dahlia

Well, I’m normally a glass half full type of person but I have found myself starting to think about how many days of summer we have left here in the UK. And how many more glorious blossoms like this dahlia will I see before it’s all gone for another year. Maybe it’s the nights getting a little chilly but I wish it would stop. We still have enough sunshine to enjoy but I am beginning to smell September in the air. Still, let’s enjoy the flowers while we may and this is a beauty.

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. navery101 / Aug 18 2013 10:16 pm

    Beautiful!

  2. Jenny / Aug 19 2013 1:34 am

    I’ve been feeling exactly the same way. I love autumn, but these lengthening nights are a bit heartbreaking.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Aug 19 2013 8:17 am

      Yes, it’s coming I’m sorry to say. I also love autumn; the colours, the smells but it’s what comes afterwards that’s the problem.

  3. Gallivanta / Aug 19 2013 10:15 am

    It certainly is a beauty.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Aug 19 2013 12:33 pm

      Thanks. I’m trying to enjoy every precious summer moment now.

      • Gallivanta / Aug 19 2013 12:43 pm

        Is your tortoise doing the same? Or showing signs that she is preparing for hibernation?

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Aug 19 2013 1:05 pm

        She is already showing the tell-tale signs. She is a better indication of the changing seasons than the weather. I think she must be influenced by the length of day, as regardless of how warm or cold it is, she starts to spend longer in her grass pile. Recently she has not got up at all on some days and it’s been quite warm. She also starts eating less. Eventually she will stop eating and then just bury herself really deep in the grass pile and then I will leave her until the frosts start and then bring her in for the winter.

      • Gallivanta / Aug 19 2013 2:52 pm

        Apart from the eating less, I feel much like your tortoise when winter approaches. 🙂

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Aug 19 2013 7:46 pm

        Yes, me too.

  4. Krystal Skwar / Aug 21 2013 6:15 pm

    Summer there looks lovely! Loved this pic.

  5. Baz Baron / Aug 23 2013 10:52 am

    Ah! yes I too can smell the end of summer unfortunately. This photo evokes wonderful memories of my father – he was a keen gardener and grew prize winning dahlias and chrysanthemums. Lovely photo, such vibrant colours.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Aug 23 2013 11:53 am

      Thanks. I don’t want to sound full of doom as I enjoy autumn it’s what follows I don’t enjoy. It is definitely lurking around in the background though.

Leave a Reply

