Skip to content
August 24, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Rotten to the core

Wasps

We  are having a bumper crop of apples and other fruit this year. Unfortunately the wasps seem to be working their way through most of them. The wildlife around here have the ability to get the fruit the second it is remotely edible.  I have hazelnut trees at the bottom of the garden and in all the years I have lived here I have not had one hazelnut from them. I know they produce nuts as whatever eats them leaves the shells as evidence but that’s as close as I’ve come to getting to eat one. Hopefully I will have more luck with the apples. In fact we have so many I am thinking of making cider with the crop.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. weggieboy / Aug 24 2013 10:55 pm

    Good luck! The only way I’ve had luck saving fruit from creatures is netting around the plant.

    It worked best for grapes growing on an old clothesline, but I managed to save some apples one year with netting. The problem there, of course, is getting the netting over the tree.

    I had my neighbor’s large male tabby cat, Woody, “helping” me by pouncing on anything trapped in the netting (leaves) that I didn’t clean out adequately before hand.

    It’s funny now, but I was ready to make myself a catskin hat at the time.

  2. ramblingratz / Aug 25 2013 2:30 am

    Q: What’s worse than biting into an apple and finding a wasp?
    A: Biting into an apple and finding half a wasp.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Aug 25 2013 2:24 pm

      I’ve had one sting me on the lip once (floating in my beer) though never eaten one thank goodness.

  3. Gallivanta / Aug 25 2013 5:40 am

    Better the wasp in your apples than in your beer! Do hope you get to make some cider though.

Leave a Reply

