Skip to content
August 29, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Happy as a pig in ….

pigs

I confess I have a soft spot for pigs. They’re very intelligent, like to mind their own business and be left to get on with things, and eat almost anything they’re presented with. Sounds like the perfect house guest, and probably with better manners than some I’ve had. I’ve loved pigs since I was a child; not sure why, except I think they are much maligned. Anyway, these beauties seem to be having a nice time rooting around in the sunshine.

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Hope / Aug 29 2013 10:52 pm

    Long as your not down-wind from ’em… 🙂

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Aug 29 2013 11:03 pm

      Another confession; I don’t mind the smell of pigs (within reason). Whenever I smell pigs it reminds me of very happy days, many years ago, spent in North Devon, one of my favourite places on the planet. One whiff and I am transported back to high banked Devon lanes and rolling green fields.

      • Hope / Aug 29 2013 11:29 pm

        Funny how childhood memories never go away…and they’re always good. I understand that. My dad was a carpenter, and the smell of sawdust does the same thing for me. 🙂

  2. Gallivanta / Aug 30 2013 1:01 am

    Pigs are great.

  3. astonishedxpression / Aug 30 2013 3:44 am

    I heard potbellies make great pets 🙂

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Aug 30 2013 2:37 pm

      Yes. The popularity of them seems to have gone off a little now but they were very popular not long ago.

  4. jbcamera / Aug 30 2013 2:04 pm

    I love pigs too, and they really don’t smell bad if they are kept in the right conditions.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Aug 30 2013 2:42 pm

      Fantastic to hear someone else say that. I’ve said it to many people over the years.

  5. iarxiv / Aug 30 2013 4:35 pm

    You’re definitely not their only fan 🙂 Glad to see other people are spreading the word that piggies are intelligent and good-natured.

  6. pipmarks / Sep 12 2013 2:26 pm

    Lots of great photos – this is my favourite so far!
    Thanks for stopping by my site.
    Cheers from a big island.
    Pip

Leave a Reply

