Skip to content
September 1, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Cricket

cricket

This is becoming an unusual sight nowadays in the UK. Crickets and grasshoppers were very common in my youth but now it’s a rare treat to see them. This one was crawling up a door frame in the house of all places. So many insects and other creatures we once took for granted have become scarce. I think I should start a campaign for more untidy gardens and scruffy countryside to make a place for all these creatures we take for granted but which are becoming scarce. It’s a long list and getting longer.

18 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jessica Hagan / Sep 1 2013 11:40 pm

    Great shot! I have chosen you for several awards,check out my blog or earlier post for them.
    Cheers!
    Jessica

  2. ramblingratz / Sep 1 2013 11:44 pm

    You’ll be pleased to know that Rambling Ratz has a very untidy garden and the wildlife love it! I often hear crickets/grasshoppers, but can seldom find them. I did read somewhere that it has been a good year for them.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Sep 2 2013 8:53 am

      That’s good to hear. I think we could all leave a little bit of our patch untidy. It would make such a big difference.

  3. Gallivanta / Sep 2 2013 2:49 am

    An untidy garden campaign seems like a good idea! Parts of mine would already qualify.

  4. mk / Sep 2 2013 4:49 am

    When I was a child in Arizona (hot, hot, hot) there were brown crickets & tan grasshoppers everywhere. Then when I moved to Los Angeles, I didn’t see any – for the past many decades. Only in the past year have I begun to see both crickets & grashoppers here in my Los Angeles yard. Is it because I’ve torn out my lawn & replaced it with drought-tolerant shrubs, or is it because it’s so hot? I don’t know.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Sep 2 2013 8:57 am

      Sounds like you’re doing something they like. I’d love to see what wildlife lives in a yard in LA or Arizona. I imagine quite exotic things.

  5. weggieboy / Sep 2 2013 5:10 am

    Your solution is a good one!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Sep 2 2013 8:59 am

      Thanks and so easy to do. A pile of old logs, a few leaves and some long grass.

  6. astonishedxpression / Sep 2 2013 6:44 am

    Those colours are simply stunning.

  7. rubytheblacklabrador / Sep 2 2013 12:01 pm

    Great contrast with these vibrant colours:)

  8. waxnwings / Sep 2 2013 4:47 pm

    I had one jump on my face the other day on my way down to Cape Cornwall, and I have to say I didn’t realise it had been so long since I had seen a grasshopper until it was quite literally in front of my eyes!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Sep 2 2013 6:31 pm

      I think that is the way of things. It’s not until an experience like that you suddenly become aware of how unusual that is. I remember it was impossible to lie on the grass in the summer without being covered in these and other crawlies.

  9. Colleen / Sep 7 2013 1:56 pm

    I love your shot. My mom was just commenting a few days ago where are all the grasshoppers? I told her at my house. Grasshoppers, crickets, katydids are all over my yard. It is impossible to walk without stirring a few into a flurry. I guess that’s one benefit of having chemical sensitivities, I use no pesticides or chemicals and the critters love my yard.

Leave a Reply

