Skip to content
September 18, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Wild and windy

Wild and windy beach

A very autumnal scene at the beach. A wild and windswept place but still beautiful. It may be a little perverse but I actually like to walk the beach in this weather. Slightly mad but I’m sure many will know what I mean. I love the coast in the winter with its empty and wild feel. I like to go bird watching at this time and one of the most wonderful experiences for me is to hear the sound of a curlew on a vast, wild salt marsh. Very haunting. If you’re not familiar with the sound, do Google or YouTube it and imagine standing in a howling gale on a beach in winter listening to that sound. It gives me goose bumps.

23 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. timthepoet / Sep 18 2013 9:52 pm

    We are lucky to have so much coast line in england. Imagine living in Poland.

  2. Maggie Beck / Sep 18 2013 9:56 pm

    I am with you on this . . . absolutely love the each in winter! Some of my very favorite memories are being bundled up on the coast near Bamburgh, England, with a thermos of soup and a blanket in November. Yes, it is haunting. It is also positively wonderful in its solitude and peace. Thanks for the photo. It triggered warm memories of my times in Northumberland.

  3. navery101 / Sep 18 2013 10:28 pm

    Beautiful, it looks very much like the Pacific Northwest in Oregon…

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Sep 19 2013 10:47 am

      Thanks. Can’t comment on Oregon. I’ve never visited the US but maybe one day. I hope to make it to Alaska.

  4. The Jagged Man / Sep 18 2013 11:06 pm

    Looks lovely!I would be very pleased to be there right now.

  5. seascapedesigns2013 / Sep 19 2013 12:06 am

    Can feel the wind in my hair….

  6. amithi / Sep 19 2013 3:58 am

    I completely agree. We plan most of our coastal vacations in November or December, we love the atmosphere, the weather and the fact that one usually is alone on the beach. Lots of people think we’re nuts, I was even asked once if the skiing is good in Brittany. 😀

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Sep 19 2013 10:51 am

      I love Britanny for the same reasons as I love the British coast; it’s wild and powerful but can also be just gorgeous, depending on the season.

  7. A New Path / Sep 19 2013 6:36 am

    Beautiful! I really enjoy your pictures and sharing of the beauty of your Island.

  8. billiamholt / Sep 19 2013 12:33 pm

    I agree. I love the inclement weather walks. Beautiful photo!

  9. rubytheblacklabrador / Sep 20 2013 11:54 am

    I’m with you – nothing like rugging up and going for a long walk on the beach. then home to log fire and hot choc!

  10. greenlightlady / Sep 22 2013 10:31 pm

    We also love to visit the beach on gray days. It makes for moody photography that may inspire equally moody poems. 🙂

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  11. Sunbeams and Simplicity / Sep 25 2013 5:03 am

    Thanks a bunch for liking my post! It means a lot to me as I am just starting out:) Your blog is absolutely lovely…the pictures are just beautiful! I’ve been thinking about moving to the UK for forever now and finding your blog and all the wonderful photos just make me want to move theren even more now! I look forward to seeing your pictures in my reader everyday! 🙂

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Sep 25 2013 8:05 am

      Thank you for your kind words and you’re very welcome. Good luck with the blog.

  12. elvinmerij / Oct 12 2013 5:46 am

    Nova Scotia has a beach that looks just like this, Lawrencetown Beach. They surf there. Do they surf at this beach pictured above?
    PS: I too love a howling gale on a beach in the winter.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Oct 12 2013 8:32 am

      Nova Scotia sounds exciting. Not much surfing on this beach. It’s the North Sea and that’s pretty cold all year.

Leave a Reply

