Skip to content
September 20, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Steam engine nostalgia

Steam train

I came across this railway by accident and what a wonderful surprise it was. A proper steam engine in full working order pulling carriages and passengers from a beautiful authentic period station with staff dressed in old railway uniforms. The smell, the noise; absolutely glorious. I noticed the platform was mostly full of men; maybe it’s a boy thing. I felt very nostalgic for these lovely old beasts.

21 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. weggieboy / Sep 20 2013 8:30 pm

    I think that’s right, mostly. Regardless, there is nothing like a beautifully maintained/restored steam engine! All of that huffing and puffing, they seem alive.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Sep 20 2013 8:33 pm

      Exactly how I felt standing next to this monster of a machine. Something very exciting about standing next to a steam engine, covered in clouds of smoke and steam but that could just be the little boy inside me.

  2. snoogiefisk / Sep 20 2013 8:34 pm

    I love old trains too. We had an opportunity to ride one in Van Buren, AR. It was wonderful.

  3. drowninmelancholy / Sep 20 2013 8:48 pm

    reinds of the hogwarts express 😀

  4. Sue (Mac's Girl) / Sep 20 2013 9:13 pm

    Ah! I remember the good old days of traveling by steam train!

  5. texasflashdude / Sep 20 2013 9:27 pm

    About 35 years ago the Flying Scotsman and the matching passenger train made a tour of the United States. My grandfather was on the committee that welcomed the train to Dallas, Texas. As a result, I got to ride IN THE CAB of the steam locomotive, the Flying Scotsman, for about 120 miles (200km). I have some great 8mm movies of that ride. I grew up around railroads and love the sounds, smells and force of steam locomotives. Thanks for posting.
    Bob from Texas, USA.

  6. The Jagged Man / Sep 21 2013 2:28 am

    Great subject matter and awesome composition as well. Love the leading lines…very nice.

  7. newsferret / Sep 21 2013 3:50 am

    Fantastic!

  8. Gallivanta / Sep 21 2013 6:44 am

    Were you able to take a ride on this train?

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Sep 21 2013 5:13 pm

      Sadly not. It wasn’t a planned visit and I didn’t even know it was there. I just pulled up and thought wow!

      • Gallivanta / Sep 22 2013 1:24 am

        :(. Something to remember for ‘next time’ you are in the area.

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Sep 22 2013 10:23 am

        I certainly will. And I will hopefully have the time to take a ride.

  9. agnesashe / Sep 21 2013 8:49 am

    Just wondering – is this the Poppy Line at Sheringham in Norfolk?

  10. missinghenrymitchell / Sep 26 2013 1:53 pm

    It’s not just a boy thing–I adore trains. I lived in the UK briefly and enjoyed traveling by train so much. I wish we made better use of them here in the US.

  11. meryscarsa / Sep 26 2013 3:06 pm

    I think it is not just a boy thing!! I love it. This picture makes feel to everyone at the begging of the 20th century, it must be very nice in B&W. Congratulations.

    Visit my blog: http://www.capturaviaje.com. Many thanks.

Leave a Reply

