Skip to content
October 6, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

The answer is blowing in the wind

Norfolk windmill

As my recent windmill post was very popular I thought people might enjoy another; this time from further along the coast. I find such places the perfect answer to life’s stresses. By definition they are always to be found in open, windswept places and therefore just the spot for a bracing walk. So, if you’ve things on your mind, wrap up warm and head for the nearest windmill.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Michael56j / Oct 6 2013 9:26 pm

    Great suggestion.

  2. Jim in IA / Oct 6 2013 10:19 pm

    I like those old windmills. They are stately.

    The answer for this small Iowa town in the midwest was blowing in the wind. The name of the town seems appropriate, too. My daughter and family live close by. I decided it deserved a post.
    http://jarphys.wordpress.com/2013/08/29/wind-turbine-a-small-town-project/

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Oct 6 2013 11:10 pm

      We have a few wind farms off the coast in the UK. I have to admit to mixed feelings. Yes, we need alternatives to carbon fuels but these things are vast and don’t exactly fit into the landscape. We are soon to have the largest wind turbine in the world in the North Sea. It’s a long way from a windmill.

      • 'CC' Richards, Daytripper Sippers / Oct 7 2013 4:53 pm

        Hmm, yes I ‘m with you on the mixed feelings part. While I agree with wind farms in theory the placement can sometimes be a real eyesore. An 80+ turbine wind farm near Canberra, Australia in my opinion ruins the skyline of a significantand stunning natural feature, Lake George. (my photo at http://wp.me/p3x4S3-1q)

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Oct 7 2013 8:11 pm

        Yes, there are a few spots around the UK where a once magnificent vista is now dramatically changed. I hope more aesthetically pleasing alternatives are discovered as the technology develops. Wave power in the UK has promise, as we have some huge tidal ranges, and of course the technology is all under water.

Leave a Reply

