Skip to content
October 9, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Frog on a bed of moss

frog

For the French out there, this is not a recipe for cuisses de grenouilles, just a photo of my pond. A lovely handsome frog enjoying the very last bit of sunshine on a soft bed of moss before the weather changes. We are expecting cool weather and high winds, so I guess that’s it. I covered the tortoise up in the grass heap and put the garden furniture away today. The heating is on and the pond and garden will soon be much quieter.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Gallivanta / Oct 10 2013 6:58 am

    Happy Winter, Tortoise 🙂 The frog looks very contented. How do I know what a contented frog looks like? I don’t! But I imagine this one is.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Oct 10 2013 8:30 am

      I agree. It does look content. The tortoise will stay in the grass until the frosts arrive and then she’ll go in her box for the winter. It’s one of those events that marks the passing of the year. I always think of when I will be getting her out again and looking forward to spring.

  2. poppytump / Oct 10 2013 11:17 am

    I love this . So charming of him to pose like that for you 😉
    A tortoise ! how wonderful so few around nowadays here in UK … any idea how old he is ??

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Oct 10 2013 1:22 pm

      Pretty old. I was given her over thirty years ago, and she was a sad case with a big hole in the top of her shell, and she was quite a mature girl then. She recovered well and we’ve been together ever since. I expect I will pass her on to my children to look after, as she shows every sign of going on for years to come.

  3. ramblingratz / Oct 10 2013 4:51 pm

    I tried to photograph a frog the other day, but he would not keep still! Definitely a chill in the air now.

Leave a Reply

