Skip to content
October 14, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

For those in peril on the sea

RNLI boat r

This shot captures for me the fantastic job carried out by the volunteers of the RNLI (Royal National Lifeboat Institution). As someone who loves the sea, sailing and boats, I value their work enormously. As can be seen from the shot,  it’s not only the crew who put themselves at considerable risk. The tractor driver is in greater danger than the crew here. By the way, the title is from one of my favourite hymns. Being a big softy, I choke up even thinking about it.

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. newsferret / Oct 14 2013 9:14 pm

    Another species of the unsung heroes. Thanks for honouring them.

  2. Michael56j / Oct 14 2013 9:15 pm

    I saw this tractor work last year and I was absolutely stunned by the concept. Yes. These people deserve recognition.

  3. kiwiskan / Oct 15 2013 1:55 am

    fantastic shot

  4. lavendermoongirlblog / Oct 15 2013 9:58 am

    Great post. And they only get funded by the public.

  5. rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 15 2013 10:43 am

    Me too – love that hymn. My uncle left most of his estate to the RNLI so it is also a charity very close to my heart. They do an amazing job and there is nothing like it here in Australia.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Oct 15 2013 11:36 am

      I am surprised. Maybe the seas are safer down there. Certainly a lot warmer.

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 15 2013 12:00 pm

        Warmer bu more shark infested! I think it’s because most of the cities has large expanses of bays (Melbourne), harbours (Sydney), rivers (Perth and Brisbane) so small vessels stay close to shore. Everything else is on a massive container ship/super tanker scale. Having said that there is a coastguard/navy mainly employed for monitoring asylum seeker boats…

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Oct 15 2013 3:31 pm

        I’ve often thought how lovely the sea around Australia looks but I would definitely be concerned about the list of things that would have me on the menu. Makes me wonder how anyone gets in the sea at all, what with a range of sharks and salt water crocs. I think I’d stay on the beach or in the pool.

  6. Gallivanta / Oct 15 2013 11:57 am

    One of my favourite hymns too.

  7. Holistic Wayfarer / Nov 3 2013 3:54 am

    Love your photos. Thanks for the like on my poem Wine.

Leave a Reply

