Skip to content
November 3, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Seaside treats

seaside shop

This is a traditional seaside shop in the UK; full of treats and exciting items like buckets and spades and footballs and treasures only a child could imagine. As a small child the bright colours and tempting items hanging outside would pull me across crowded streets like a magnet. As I went I would pull my parents with me and into the shop. These little places knew all about pester power long before there was a word for it. This photo could have been taken fifty years ago, so little has changed. I still want to cross the road and go in to look and touch, even though I’m far too old to buy.

17 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sue (Mac's Girl) / Nov 3 2013 8:47 pm

    I remember going to places like that when I was a kid when we went to stay in Folkestone. I loved getting those little flags that you stuck in the sand castles!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Nov 3 2013 9:08 pm

      They were full of such wonderful things, mostly completely useless away from the beach and never to be seen again until the next trip to the seaside.

  2. vsperry / Nov 3 2013 9:29 pm

    I think the blue and white awnings add such a charm to the look of the store, makes me want to go in too…and no, we are NOT too old to buy, you never know what will give you pleasure!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Nov 3 2013 9:37 pm

      The problem is now I am far too sensible and question how useful something is or how often I might use it, and whether it’s good value. Grown ups are far too sensible for their own good sometimes.

      • vsperry / Nov 3 2013 11:42 pm

        Ah, good value…probably not. I also think about whether I’m going to have to throw it out/give it away in a year or so. I just spent the day going around my kitchen and bedroom making a HUGE pile to go to the Goodwill (one of our donation stores). We have too much stuff.

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Nov 4 2013 10:53 am

        Me too. Stuff everywhere.

  3. Sweet as a Picture / Nov 3 2013 11:44 pm

    Those look like tempting treats. 🙂

  4. amithi / Nov 4 2013 5:03 am

    I know shops like that from vacations to the German, Frenh and Dutch coasts as well.

    I love visiting these shops! And since I collect lighthouse miniatures, I always have a good excuse to go in. 😉

  5. Rachel / Nov 4 2013 8:36 am

    You’re never too old to go into a sweetie shop like that.

  6. DuvessSimone / Nov 4 2013 12:09 pm

    looks like such an old schoo, cosy, and overall optimistic little shop. I like to see things like this stll in fruition.
    Its so strange, whislt I’ve never been tot he UK, I hear their beaches are not quite beaches, but they have beachy shops like this? 🙂 I would love a shop as colourful a this near my beach at home her ein Australia 🙂

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Nov 4 2013 6:35 pm

      You must visit the UK one day. We have fabulous beaches and lots of coastline. Maybe not as warm as Australia or as big but we don’t have Great Whites and Saltwater crocs either. So, you can paddle without too much to worry about.

  7. Melissa Osburn / Nov 4 2013 8:05 pm

    My inner child would be very tempted to go inside. All those bright, cheery colors.

  8. Desiree G / Nov 4 2013 8:08 pm

    Does that mean I am too old for a candy shop as well? Many empty calories and wasted pennies — except for the temporary joy it brings me. In that sense, a visit to this shop is priceless. 🙂

Leave a Reply

