Skip to content
November 13, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Left hand down a bit

left hand down a bit

This gull appears to be giving steering instructions to the chap at the tiller. Made me smile when I saw it. The title will be known well by Brits of a certain age and refers to a hugely popular radio comedy from the 60’s called ‘The Navy Lark’. It still runs today, repeated endlessly on various channels because it was so good. And yes, I still listen. I know the scripts word for word and still laugh. Even the words ‘left hand down a bit’ make me smile quietly to myself, remembering happy times.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. timthepoet / Nov 13 2013 8:26 pm

    It looks a bit like Cornwall.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Nov 13 2013 8:34 pm

      It looks a lot like Cornwall. It’s Looe.

      • timthepoet / Nov 13 2013 8:57 pm

        It reminded me a bit of Ilfracombe. Never been to Looe though.

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Nov 13 2013 10:27 pm

        I can understand why you think that. I love that part of the coast too. Combe Martin holds a special place in my heart.

  2. Sue (Mac's Girl) / Nov 13 2013 10:29 pm

    I remember listening to The Navy Lark every Sunday.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Nov 13 2013 11:30 pm

      I still listen to it on Radio 4 Extra along with Round the Horne and Hancock’s Half-Hour. Absolute magic.

      • Sue (Mac's Girl) / Nov 14 2013 1:44 am

        Round the Horne was my all-time favorite! Kenneth Williams was hilarious!

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Nov 14 2013 8:03 am

        Mine too. It’s predecessor Beyond Our Ken was absolutely outrageous for its day. I have no idea how they got away with it. I agree about Kenneth Williams. A comedy genius.

  3. entwinedlife / Nov 14 2013 1:05 pm

    Lovely photo… Charmed life… Views from a small island warm the soul! Thanks for leading an EntwinedLife!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Nov 14 2013 1:20 pm

      Thank you very much. I appreciate you taking the time to stop by and say such nice things. You have a great blog too and clearly we share a love of life.

Leave a Reply

