Skip to content
November 23, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

The earth moved

making the earth move

This type of geological feature can be seen all over the world but I think this is a particularly clear example.  You couldn’t find a better illustration of how the earth has twisted and tilted and crashed over millions of years, leaving once horizontal layers of sedimentary rock now vertical. I found this really fascinating to ponder over. It also reminds me of how tiny and weak we are in the scheme of things. Can you imagine the forces that did this? If anyone is curious, this was taken  on the north Cornish coast.

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. PSsquared / Nov 23 2013 8:34 pm

    I find that kind of geology fascinating. And it’s a great photo. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Mike Howe / Nov 23 2013 8:37 pm

    Very nice example of uplift and tilt, lovely bedding planes. Like you it always helps me with perspective of time and out tiny place in it 🙂

  3. heila2013 / Nov 24 2013 12:45 am

    Yeah, this is totally fascinating. We have similar formations here in Israel; if I could attach a picture file here I’d show you something really beautiful…

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Nov 24 2013 10:04 am

      Please do if you can. I’d love to see some shots of Israel; a place I hope to see one day.

      • heila2013 / Nov 24 2013 9:46 pm

        You just gave me a great idea for a post! I’ll tell you when it’s posted. Thanks, Heila 🙂

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Nov 24 2013 9:48 pm

        Pleased to have given someone a bit of inspiration. I’m intrigued now.

      • heila2013 / Nov 24 2013 10:04 pm

        😉

  4. Gallivanta / Nov 24 2013 1:39 am

    The earth moves; it sure does! In this part of the world, I wish it would keep still.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Nov 24 2013 10:01 am

      Yes, of course. Here in the UK we are distanced from the fact that in many parts of the world, and around yours in particular, the world is still very much on the move. For us it is a curiosity, frozen in time, from millions of years ago; for you and millions of others it’s very real now. Interesting to note the UK is still moving but very, very slowly. Scotland is still rising from the melt of the last ice age apparently.

  5. rubytheblacklabrador / Nov 25 2013 9:05 am

    I’m a geography/geologist so love this type of shot:)

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Nov 25 2013 10:25 am

      Geology is not my subject but I do find myself wishing I knew more as I come across sites like this. Absolutely fascinating and wonderful to explore and discover more.

  6. Iamrcc / Nov 25 2013 8:13 pm

    That is fascinating. The earth does move. Sometimes the change is so small it goes virtually unnoticed, but I have seen the movement in my garden. My neighbor used to laugh at me, but he now recognizes it as well.

Leave a Reply

