Skip to content
December 9, 2013 / viewsfromasmallisland

Longboats

longboats

In the UK, canal barges are known as longboats, for obvious reasons. As I was walking along the canal today, it struck me that these appeared to be very long boats indeed. There were also quite a few more than I’ve seen here before. Perhaps moored up for the winter. I posted a canal scene recently but I do enjoy the tranquility of walking along the canal and there is always something to capture. Here, a slightly different glimpse of the English countryside in winter.

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Marion Lougheed / Dec 9 2013 9:40 pm

    I love seeing all the quirky boats out on the water! Sailboats are my first love (as evidenced by my blog), but it’s amazing the designs that people come up with! 😀

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Dec 9 2013 10:02 pm

      Boats with sails are tops for me too but I just love boats and water.

      • Marion Lougheed / Dec 9 2013 10:41 pm

        Yes! I’m loving your water shots. And all the others. It’s a great idea to do a picture a day. I have a friend who does something similar, except with less formality to it. She just loves photography!

  2. SmallHouseBigGarden / Dec 9 2013 9:43 pm

    Are there any that operate as bed and breakfasts? I’ve always wanted to stay on one, but know nothing about canal barge culture. (there is Nothing like them here in the states) If you could point me in the right direction, I’d be most obliged!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Dec 9 2013 9:59 pm

      I don’t’ know of any as B&Bs but you can hire them and cruise. Sounds like a great way to see the countryside. In Stratford basin you can enjoy a meal on one that is a restaurant, right in front of the theatre.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Dec 9 2013 10:00 pm

      I will do a little research and see if there any B&Bs but it may be self catering only.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Dec 10 2013 8:46 am

      I’ve had a look around and yes, there are canal boat B&Bs and similar. If you Google it you’ll find a few to look at. I can’t recommend any as I’ve never done it myself but if you find one in an area you’re interested in and want some help with information, do let me know and I’ll be happy to help.

  3. Kim13 / Dec 9 2013 9:51 pm

    Great shot…and yes, the red one does look a bit longer than some of the others you’ve shown!

  4. lljostes / Dec 9 2013 10:59 pm

    They look like a water train!

  5. davezart / Dec 10 2013 2:07 am

    I too am intrigued by lfe on a canal barge. I wonder if the

  6. davezart / Dec 10 2013 2:12 am

    Life is somewhat gypsy like. Surel nomadic, because they perhaps cant afford to stay in the same berth for long. Diesel or marine fuel powered? Electicity by battery or do they hook up at the berth. Then there is a question ofplumbing and waste management.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Dec 10 2013 8:41 am

      Well I suspect the reality in winter is a lot less romantic than it appears. Power is a mixture of generator and batteries, although I’m sure there is a hook-up when moored. Heat is coal or wood. Waste is dealt with in a similar way to sophisticated camping I imagine.

Leave a Reply

