Skip to content
January 13, 2014 / viewsfromasmallisland

At the bottom of the garden

wren

I found this beautiful wren trapped in my greenhouse today. I have a very large garden and at this time of year I don’t go down to the greenhouse from one week to the next, so it was very fortunate for this little bird I did so today. There was a little gap in the glass where it must have got in but it seemed unlikely it would have found its way out again, and I have no idea how long it had been trapped. Maybe little birds have guardian angels too.

33 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. ann perrin / Jan 13 2014 8:17 pm

    Brilliant, glad you saved it.

  2. delimaf / Jan 13 2014 8:17 pm

    Welcome back! Was missing your daily posts! Thanks much!

  3. Mary Strong-Spaid / Jan 13 2014 8:31 pm

    Cute little rescued bird. You are it’s guardian angel, for sure!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 14 2014 8:08 am

      Thank you. I don’t know about that but it was nice to be in the right place at the right time for sure.

  4. Kim13 / Jan 13 2014 8:40 pm

    I am so glad you went in today! Lucky bird!

  5. hihowsyou25 / Jan 13 2014 8:56 pm

    aww such a sweet bird and a lucky one too 😀

  6. Dina / Jan 13 2014 8:56 pm

    Gosh, good that you went to the greenhouse today1 What an adorable little wren, thanks for sharing.
    Love, DIna

  7. SmallHouseBigGarden / Jan 13 2014 10:21 pm

    Hello cute little birdy!
    What a great find…and rescue! I wonder how long he’d been in there?!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 14 2014 8:10 am

      There’s no way of telling but with very cold nights in an unheated greenhouse and no water, it wouldn’t have lasted too long in there.

  8. Gallivanta / Jan 13 2014 11:14 pm

    A real beauty 🙂

  9. Stephen Nielsen / Jan 14 2014 1:13 am

    I’m glad to see you are back. Do you have another challenge for this year?

  10. kiwiskan / Jan 14 2014 6:56 am

    maybe they do 🙂

  11. Sweet as a Picture / Jan 14 2014 7:40 am

    I’d like to believe the birds have guardian angels, too. 🙂 Once a mourning dove found it’s way into my bedroom and onto my bed. I’d left the window slightly open. Slightly. Like your bird, it managed to make it’s way into my room and then couldn’t figure how to get out. Imagine my surprise (and the bird’s) when I walked into my room. Oh my!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 14 2014 8:17 am

      Yes, these encounters can be precious too. I’ve had a similar experience to you and it does come as a surprise for sure. I once had a bat do the same thing which was an even bigger surprise in the dark.

      • Sweet as a Picture / Jan 15 2014 10:12 am

        OMG! Now THAT’S an experience! What a story to tell. I’d like to hear about that. LOL! 😀

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 15 2014 10:24 am

        Well, they really are the most beautiful little creatures. We have them roosting in the roof space. Only a handful unfortunately. When I put the light on it was a surprise but also a complete delight to be so close to such a wonderful thing. The most striking thing was how completely silent and gentle its flight was. Sadly, it was injured, which is why it must have ended up in the bedroom. I took it to a local bat protection centre for help in nursing it back to health but after a few weeks it died. I know many people are not keen on bats but I’m not sure why that is. They have been described as a flying mouse, which is not far off I suppose but I would say they are cuter . And of course bats do a great job for mankind by keeping insect populations under control.

      • Sweet as a Picture / Jan 16 2014 3:35 am

        Aww! That was a bitter sweet story. I’m glad you were able to help the bat. Sorry that it died. When people aren’t keen on someone or something, I believe it’s most likely because they don’t understand. I’m nervous about bats and even the birds (even though I feed them. I had to call my mother to get it out of my room! LOL!), but I’m willing to learn about them and I definitely respect all living beings. Thanks for sharing this story.

  12. Laurie / Jan 14 2014 6:28 pm

    Aw…sweet 🙂

  13. BeluChi / Jan 14 2014 8:31 pm

    Cute!!! 🙂

  14. Mary Mageau / Jan 21 2014 12:17 am

    Thank you for sharing this story with its happy ending.

  15. Eliza Waters / Feb 5 2014 12:31 am

    Oh, you do have good luck with sweet little birds! And this one definitely had good luck for you to come along when you did. Spirit must have whispered in your ear to give you the thought to visit the greenhouse! How did you get it out?

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 5 2014 10:06 am

      I didn’t go in after it as it was too frightened, I opened the door and then went round the back of the greenhouse and as it tried to fly away from me, it flew out the door without harming itself.

Leave a Reply

