Skip to content
January 24, 2014 / viewsfromasmallisland

Good company

robin

 

The Robin is one of my favourite small birds. I love it for its cheeky chappy confidence. I don’t think they are as bold elsewhere in their range but in the UK they can be almost tame. I find its song in winter really quite sad and mournful, especially if its calling at the end of the day and night is almost upon us. ย This one followed me down the lane as I walked, hopping from branch to branch in the expectation he would get a free meal. Sadly I had nothing to share but I was glad for the company. I will take something with me next time.

37 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Morgan / Jan 24 2014 2:46 pm

    Adorable little guy ๐Ÿ™‚

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 24 2014 4:38 pm

      They are. Just gorgeous.

      • Morgan / Jan 25 2014 1:30 am

        This is the Robin that I wait to see every Spring when they return from the south. I guess its the American Variety.

        (Hope that link works)

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 25 2014 1:40 pm

        Yes, it is the American Robin and looks very much a Thrush and a very handsome bird. I suppose the early settlers from the UK must have named it a Robin because of the similar red breast.

      • Morgan / Jan 25 2014 11:14 pm

        OH!! You are probably so right! It is a large bird like a thrush and I just love to hear it “laughing” its sweet songs in the morning and evenings. Saying its prayers, as my Nana used to say ๐Ÿ™‚

        Blessings~

  2. colin / Jan 24 2014 2:47 pm

    It is like me and the chickens. They follow me down the road looking for a hand out or just plain curious. I am not really certain.

  3. centralohionature / Jan 24 2014 2:50 pm

    Beautiful bird!

  4. Jessica Hagan / Jan 24 2014 2:57 pm

    What a beautiful robin!! The ones here in Canada look quite different and are larger I’m certain.
    Great shot!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 24 2014 4:36 pm

      Thanks. I imagine you have the American Robin there which is very different in appearance.

      • Freeda Baker Nichols / Jan 24 2014 5:29 pm

        Here in the U. S., robins are very different from the one in your photo. They visit here each spring and summer.

  5. amithi / Jan 24 2014 3:05 pm

    Robins are awesome company. We have one around the farm and I love having my breakfast accompanied by its song.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 24 2014 4:36 pm

      A lovely companion and they like to hang around people so much. I know it’s for a free meal but it’s still nice.

  6. RunnerDuck / Jan 24 2014 3:05 pm

    Are you sure that’s a Robin? That sure does look a lot different than what we have here in the Northwestern United States, interesting.
    Very nice photo. As always, thanks for sharing.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 24 2014 4:31 pm

      Yes, the American Robin and British Robin are very different. The British one is not much more than a little bundle of fluff and the American one is quite a bit bigger and I think a member of the thrush family. Confusing that we call them by the same name.

  7. marystreasurechest / Jan 24 2014 3:13 pm

    Yes the Robin is a lovely bird. I have one visiting the feeding station every day and a delight to watch.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 24 2014 4:34 pm

      One of my favourites. Sometimes I could almost touch them in the garden. But never quite able to.

  8. delimaf / Jan 24 2014 4:04 pm

    Great photo! Missing your good company. Thanks!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 24 2014 4:33 pm

      Thank you very much. That is really kind. Things have been a bit hectic of late and still are but I’m hoping to get back to posting more often. I really appreciate your kind words.

  9. kiwiskan / Jan 24 2014 6:57 pm

    You have really captured this cheeky little bird so well

  10. meticulousmick / Jan 24 2014 8:26 pm

    Nice image of a great gardening companion. MM ๐Ÿ€

  11. Mary Mageau / Jan 28 2014 12:07 am

    What a saucy little robin you have captured. When I lived in Minnesota we saw robins with beautiful bright red breasts. They were always welcomed as a first sign of spring.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Jan 28 2014 11:13 am

      Thank you. Our robins are resident but we do have a large number of winter visitors escaping colder weather in Europe and Scandinavia. A very handsome little bird with a beautiful song that we can hear all year round, as it defends its patch in winter and calls for a mate in spring.

  12. heila2013 / Feb 2 2014 8:18 pm

    I love robins too. Some of the European robins come to Israel in October. They spend the winter here and leave again in March.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 3 2014 9:39 am

      They are beautiful. They sound like very sensible robins. I wish I could do the same.

  13. earthealing / Feb 3 2014 8:30 am

    Nice! last winter a tiny Robin started to fly around me, i thought for food only,but to my surprise it would fly near me and look into me and when i would drive away would fly to the garden fence and just stare as i pulled away, the food was in the bird house but it just came to hang with me;this winter is not here but i will remember its spirit

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 3 2014 9:37 am

      Lovely story. I remember a close encounter with a robin when I was working in the garden and it was truly magical. Just occasionally we are privileged to have these moments of interaction with nature, and they are a privilege.

  14. Eliza Waters / Feb 5 2014 12:25 am

    I think it’d be nice to be followed by a cheerful, little robin! I wrote a post about American robins that you might want to check out: http://elizawaters.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=1006&action=edit They used to be summer visitors, but now some stay year round. However, they’d never follow us around, they are too shy.

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 5 2014 10:05 am

      Robins in the UK are very bold, almost tame and I do love their company in the garden.

  15. Sweet as a Picture / Feb 11 2014 7:00 am

    Beautiful-looking bird. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  16. batgurrl / Mar 11 2014 3:14 am

    I am a Robin and never knew English Robins were different than No Am Robins. Wow learn something new every day. Have you ever seen a Wake Robin? That is a spring flower often called a trillium. Pick it and it takes years to flower again. I am stalking trillums this spring. ;). Thanx for visiting my crow blog. They are my first love behind my hubby

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Mar 11 2014 8:12 am

      Hi. Thanks for dropping by. I have never seen a Wake Robin. Yes, we do have trillium in the UK. Love the idea of a blog about crows. I like crows; so intelligent and handsome.

Leave a Reply

