Skip to content
February 4, 2014 / viewsfromasmallisland

A moment in time

gulls 4r

I like capturing moments that the eye misses and then looking in detail at the beauty in those ordinary moments. I suppose that’s one of the reasons I like to photograph birds and animals, as we usually only catch a fleeting glance before the subject is gone. I find the birds in this shot almost balletic. At the time it was a cacophony of squawks and clouds of wings but frozen, they look beautiful.

19 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. P Moorman / Feb 4 2014 4:59 pm

    This photo is outstanding and your words are so beautiful.

  2. Dana S. Hugh / Feb 4 2014 5:16 pm

    Great moment!

  3. kiwiskan / Feb 4 2014 6:46 pm

    🙂 – as you’ll notice when you look at my post for today…

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 4 2014 7:22 pm

      I had a look and you’re right. You’ve been busy with the camera; some lovely shots on there.

      • kiwiskan / Feb 5 2014 12:22 am

        Thanks – but those elusive birds…

      • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 5 2014 10:01 am

        I share your feelings as I often try to get a good shot of the local cormorants and fail miserably most of the time. I made the mistake of going for a walk without my camera last week, and it was as if the cormorants knew I was unarmed as they took turns to pose in front of me, with the final indignity of a low fly past by a cormorant with a carp in its mouth, just yards from where I stood, which would have been just a fabulous shot. My language at the time was a little choice.

      • kiwiskan / Feb 5 2014 6:28 pm

        I have the same experiences! The minute I get my camera all those friendly birds suddenly disappear…

  4. Sweet as a Picture / Feb 5 2014 9:05 am

    They look like they are having fun!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 5 2014 10:07 am

      Yes, it was all over a small piece of bread floating in the water. Made for a nice shot though.

  5. Stephen Nielsen / Feb 5 2014 11:48 pm

    You got a good shot and you’re good with the camera. Did you have to wait long to get this shot?

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 6 2014 1:38 pm

      Thank you. It didn’t take much of a wait. I saw the gulls getting excited about something and went over to try and get the shot you see. I love the way they swarm over the chance of a meal and I wanted to capture that ‘frozen in time’ moment.

  6. Rhine@theBlissPad / Feb 9 2014 8:42 am

    you have captured such an amazing shot! 😀

  7. Rachel / Feb 11 2014 5:46 pm

    That’s one of the things I love about photography – you can take a much closer look at your leisure, and really SEE what was going on. It’s even better for me because I usually forget to wear my glasses outdoors (I’m short-sighted), so a photo reveals things I might have missed at the time!

    • viewsfromasmallisland / Feb 11 2014 7:45 pm

      Sounds familiar. I often take my photos by knowing the settings almost by touch and pointing in the right direction on auto focus because I don’t have my glasses. Sometimes it even works.

Leave a Reply

